1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

DVI Board - What's going wrong?

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by Scotty Boy, Mar 4, 2005.

  1. Scotty Boy

    Scotty Boy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2003
    Messages:
    1,076
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +6
    Just got my DVI board today for my PW6. Fitted it into Input 1, connected the DVI lead to my Denon 1910.

    It keeps jumping between 'No Input' To a mottled grey/white screen, and then sometimes to the film.

    The DVD player is on video out component p, as there's nothing else to select, and i've pushed dvi on to 480p.

    Any ideas chaps why it would be doing this?

    Regards
    Scott
     
  2. Scotty Boy

    Scotty Boy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2003
    Messages:
    1,076
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +6
    Why is it that as soon as I post my problems, they fix themselves?

    It has been switching screens for like 10 mins, and now it's suddenly stopped and working.

    Proper weird that. :p
     
  3. Scotty Boy

    Scotty Boy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2003
    Messages:
    1,076
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +6
    The DVI lead is missing pins 4, 5, 12, 13, 20 and 21. Is that a bad thing?
     
  4. Scotty Boy

    Scotty Boy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2003
    Messages:
    1,076
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +6
    By the way, looks absolutely stunning. :)
     
  5. Pezerinno

    Pezerinno
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2004
    Messages:
    3,411
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Southsea
    Ratings:
    +70
    Can I see a pic of a DVD playing please.
     
  6. Liam @ Prog AV

    Liam @ Prog AV
    Well-known Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2002
    Messages:
    8,498
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +827
    Those extra pins are for analogue signals. DVI-I standard allows for the digital pins (the one's you've got) or a bunch of analogue pins (the ones you don't) which would send normal analogue RGB as a normal VGA plug would.

    As for why the DVI issues - God knows, that Panasonic board just ain't right! (yet on the projectors they've been fine for generations lol!)
     
  7. Scotty Boy

    Scotty Boy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2003
    Messages:
    1,076
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +6
    Ah, nice one Liam. Cheers for that.

    I think it just took a while to tune in, done it eventually.

    Watching old school 'Gone in 60seconds' Looks utterly fantastic! And it's only on a standard res panel. :)

    Seriously looks stunning, would go as far to say it looks as good as my old PWHD6 and scaler. :eek:
     
  8. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    is your denon MR modded or macrovision disabled?
     
  9. Scotty Boy

    Scotty Boy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2003
    Messages:
    1,076
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +6
    I wouldn't have a clue to be honest. Maybe I could assk the previous owner.

    Question. When I turned it off, and then on again, I got this grey fuzzy screen like it was trying to tune itself in, it took ages aswell and I don't even think it worked this time.

    B) The blacks are a bit shocking... they seem really botchy when there's a large black section
     
  10. YellowCows

    YellowCows
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2002
    Messages:
    141
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    Scotty,

    The 'blotchy blacks' you're seeing are what's known as 'Macroblocking'. It's the fault of the Faroudja/DCDi (FLI2310) chip that's in your Denon player, (and in a whole heap of other players).

    This chipset suffers from this very issue you're describing - no remedy for it unfortunately. Panasonic plasmas are the absolute worst companion to a player with this chipset, as they emphasise the macroblocking issue severely. As you say, on bright scenes, the picture's great, but on dark ones, you'll see the effect.

    Your best bet is firstly to calibrate your screen (if you can't get it ISF'ed) using DVE or even a THX optimizer disc, then dial down the contrast and/or brightness one or two notches lower. Unfortunately, this will result in a bit of black crush (i.e. less greyscale/shadow detail), but it should make the blotchiness more bearable. High contrast is not your friend when it comes to macroblocking, especially on Panny plasmas.

    BTW, have you tried a PAL disc on the DVI connection (at 576p)? I ask because I can't get this to work on my Denon/6-series combo, and I'm not the only one. If you can't, don't worry, it's not a fault, the DVI board is just fussy like that. If you can, however, that would raise some questions for me.....

    Cheers

    Moory
     
  11. Scotty Boy

    Scotty Boy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2003
    Messages:
    1,076
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +6
    Thanks alot for the info, very helpful.

    I watched Gone in 60 seconds on it last night, which is a PAL disc. So that must of been at 576p.

    Unfortunately, I can't get that same disc to play today, after I turned the dvd player off and calibrated input one so it was lower brightness etc and calibrated the same as the other inputs.

    It keeps switching to NO SIGNAL, and a greyish screen and occasionally part of the screen.

    Any ideas as to why? Everything seems to be screwed in tightly.
     
  12. Scotty Boy

    Scotty Boy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2003
    Messages:
    1,076
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +6
    Woohoo!

    Still couldn't get a picture, pressed input and cycled through them again, got to input one and BAM, we have a seriously fine picture.

    Blacks look good too.
     
  13. Scotty Boy

    Scotty Boy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2003
    Messages:
    1,076
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +6
    This is interesting.

    When I turn the player off, then on, I get no picture. BUT, if I cycle through the inputs back to input one. Bam, it works.


    You tried that YellowCows?
     
  14. Joe Fernand

    Joe Fernand
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    23,802
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Borders
    Ratings:
    +2,470
    Scotty Boy

    I suspect your 'Problem' is an HDCP handshaking issue - your Display wont go looking for a new handshake unless you reselect the Digital Input.

    What's happening on the front of the Denon when you switch in On/Off? I'll bet the HDMI or HDCP light isn't illuminated until you toggle through the Displays Inputs.

    The DVI Board in the 6 Series is more problematic than it is in the 7 Series and the HDMI Board for the 7 Series is more stable than either. The Pioneer DV-868AVi only works with the HDMI Board.

    Best regards

    Joe
     
  15. njr

    njr
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2002
    Messages:
    113
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Berkshire
    Ratings:
    +0
    Scotty,

    So are you saying that its worth trying a Denon 1910 with my PW6 on DVI input or are the macroblocking issues going to spoil the show?
     
  16. d3ll

    d3ll
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2005
    Messages:
    223
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi Scotty,
    The player is M/R'd as it was done by sevenoaks at the point of sale (with a disc I think)
    With regard to macrovision, have no idea mate. Can ring them and ask if that would help?

    Hope you get sorted with the player anyhows. :smashin:
     
  17. cboy

    cboy
    Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2004
    Messages:
    535
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +4
    i have the same problem with my denon 1910 and dvi input, i too have to cycle round the inputs to get it to work, most annoying as u pay alot of money for these terminal boards the last thing u want is to be on ure hands and knees pressing a little button after spending so much money oh and i also spent alot of money on a wireworld dvi cable and it makes no difference.. :suicide:
     
  18. Scotty Boy

    Scotty Boy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2003
    Messages:
    1,076
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +6
    Heh, you upgraded the DVI lead? I've just used the basic one I got, makes a difference over component, but I probably won't bother upgrading.

    Why don't you change the inputs by the remote instead of going on your hands and knees? :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...