1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

DVE Disc

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by sneaky, Dec 31, 2003.

1. sneaky

sneaky
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Now I am very new to this so the problem maybe with me.

I received my DVE disc this morning and I have listened to all that Joe Kane had to say and I can honestly say it was not for the faint hearted. I was expecting some easier to understand explanations and better walk through's but it just didn't happen for me.

The other thing I was a bit troubled by was how much he went on about CRT Televisions. I don't think he mentioned LCD Projectors once which is why I bought the disc (are the fundamentals the same for setting up a HS20).

Even the sound tests didnt seem to tell me where I should be putting my sound meter to check the levels of each speaker. When I looked in my AMP manual and did the simple test that they had, it said sit in your normal viewing position and make sure the level sounds the same - is this the same for the tests on the disc.

Is the AVIA Disc any better for a new guy like myself or is it the same (like having to sit through one of those horrible Physics lessons, with a guy in open toed sandals with socks on rabitting on.

I am an IT Development Manager, so I am not a complete num skull or technophobe but if I explained a new SQL database that I had built to a client in that manner, I think I would be out of a job.

Thanks for listening to me having a rant but it's late and I am a very disappointed camper, I have been using avforums for about 2 months and the explanations you get on here are first class and to buy a disc that bambossles the hell out of me has got me going.

2. buns

buns
    Banned

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +1
    Hi there,