DVD's to Xbox 360? List your APPS

Discussion in 'Xbox Forums' started by jaspain, Jan 23, 2008.

  1. jaspain

    jaspain
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2006
    Messages:
    402
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Telford
    Ratings:
    +7
    Sorry to go over old news dudes but I am trying to convert my dvd collection to play on my 360.

    I have used the following apps but they always seem out of sync or take an age to convert?

    - Winavi
    - DVD Fab
    - Videora XBox Converter
    - Convert HQ

    Anyone else use anything better?

    Many Thanks

    Jas
     
  2. Indiana Jones

    Indiana Jones
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2003
    Messages:
    37,018
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Bristol
    Ratings:
    +9,725
    AutoGk as it will convert your DVD's to Divx/XviD and is really easy to use.
     
  3. louisf1819

    louisf1819
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    Messages:
    30
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    can anyone suggest a program for Mac OSX?

    thanks
     
  4. Trist

    Trist
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2005
    Messages:
    4,662
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    South London
    Ratings:
    +1,261
    I've just started doing it myself using AutoGk and can backup Indy's claim. Pretty much one click and your off. It's not a quick process though. I'm converting them into roughly 2gb files though.

    Seems to take between 3-5 hours depending on the quality. I've just bought a new 500gb hard drive and have been happily copying my DVD collection to it. Could take some time... but it's nice that you can set the artwork to come up on the Xbox 360 (by naming the .jpg file the same as the .avi file in case you didn't know). I'm easily pleased...

    Also with AutoGk you can select for it to shut down your computer once it's done. That's what I've been doing, set it off first thing in the morning before I head off to work.
     
  5. PaulHeyworth

    PaulHeyworth
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2005
    Messages:
    59
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Worcester
    Ratings:
    +4

    I have tried this method, but it's disappointing that the video quality produced is nowhere near DVD and certainly nowhere near my Denon upscaler.

    I would like to rip all my DVD's and stream them in high quality, but I'm struggling to find a tool that will do this and I've tried many of them.
     
  6. paulbed4d

    paulbed4d
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Messages:
    1,625
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Ratings:
    +47
    Im having the exact same problem as above.
    Any help appreciated.
     
  7. Sandman

    Sandman
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2002
    Messages:
    3,768
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +1,653
    I suggest you stop what you are doing imediately and test one of your files. The 360 does not like any xvid/divx files any bigger than about 1.82GB (or there abouts). It will try to play them but will stutter every few minutes. Keep the files size to 1800MB and you should be ok.
     
  8. Sandman

    Sandman
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2002
    Messages:
    3,768
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +1,653
    Then you are doing something wrong. Choose XVID as the codec and output size to 1800MB two pass encoding and in advanced setting choose original AC3 audio (if you have a surround sound system). The quality doing this should be very close to DVD quality.
    If you dont want the 5.1 audio choose MP3 128mpbs and a file size of 2 CD's (1400MB) and you will get very good picture quality.
    The key is not to choose file size based on quality percentage as this will only do a single pass encode.
     
  9. Sandman

    Sandman
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2002
    Messages:
    3,768
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +1,653
    Are you using an old computer or perhaps a laptop? I use a core 2 duo 2.66mhz and 2GB RAM and the average movie takes me about 1hr 45min to encode.
     
  10. Trist

    Trist
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2005
    Messages:
    4,662
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    South London
    Ratings:
    +1,261
    :eek:

    Ahh... I will do, I only quickly checked to make sure it was working to be honest.

    I've only done a couple so not too much time lost if they're knackered.

    I'm away for the weekend but I'll check on Monday to see if they play smoothly.

    Thanks for the heads up though! :thumbsup:
    It's just over 4 years old, so not the newest to be honest. I've been looking at getting a new one, I was thinking of an iMac (the glossy'ness draws me in.... I'm weak) but I can't afford anything at the moment so its not really worth me thinking about it.

    I was doing the double pass so I'm guessing that takes a little longer, but it's defo not a quick thing to do. Set it off and leave it.
     

Share This Page

Loading...