DVDR75 or 880?

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by Photon, Sep 12, 2003.

1. Photon

Photon

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hello all,

i'm new to DVD-recording, so i could use a little advice: i'm looking for a DVD-recorder at a reasonable price, and i saw the Philips DVDR880 recently at a shop for only 500 euros (and it's supposed to be good). But now i bought the october issue of home entertainment and they have a review of the DVDR75 (5 stars). What's the difference between the two, because they're about the same price? I have a mimo32 by the way, don't know if that makes a difference.

2. primitive

primitive
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Get the DVDR75 it is a newer design than the 880 and has iLink for direct input from a DV camcorder. Functionality is the same between the two. The 880 has also had some reliability problems and overall the DVDR75 simply looks better.

3. dude1971

dude1971

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    I would second that, as I'm saving up for the 75 as two of my friends have the 880 and have had them repaired twice already. Might want to get the extended gurantee as this technology is in it's infancy and needs to be treated with kid gloves!

It's available for £380 at Amazon.

4. calscot

calscot
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    You could always get the 880 from richer sounds for £300 + £60 for a 5 year swap out warranty. And if you don't use the warranty over the 5 years you get your money back or you can trade it in for half the original value.

5. Rasczak

Rasczak
    Distinguished Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +2,282
    Just to make an observation that may or may not be useful:

The 880 has been replaced by the DVDR70.

The 890 has been replaced by the DVDR75.