DVDO iScanHD DVI Input Processing

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by DDRUK_Lawrence, Dec 23, 2006.

  1. DDRUK_Lawrence

    DDRUK_Lawrence
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2004
    Messages:
    37
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +1
    Hi,

    I have a PixelMagic MB200 HD MediaBox, a DVDO iScanHD and a Panasonic TH-42PWD6BX with VGA input. The iScan outputs from the VGA out in RGB to the Panny. Now according to the DVDO website (see links provided below for further info) I can use the DVI input and process 480p/576p signals which can be output as an analog component, analog RGBHV, or DVI signal. I bought an HDMI to DVI lead and connected the HDMI output of the MB200 to the DVI input in the iScan. I have set the Configuration / DVI Input to Auto on the iScan menu. I have set the MB200 to output HDMI - 576p. However, no matter what I try I can not get the iScan to process the signal. It is always 'Passthrough' and this means it outputs on the DVI and not the analogue VGA to which my plasma sceen is connected.

    Before I return my HDMI - DVI lead does anyone have any suggestions to get the iScan to process this signal? I am pretty sure the HDMI output from the MB200 is not protected.

    Thanks,

    Lawrence.

    Reference Links:
    MB200 - http://www.pixelmagicsystems.com/products/media_players/hd_mediabox.htm
    ftp://ftp.crystalio.com/Public/download/HDMB_Owners_Guide_1.0.pdf

    iScanHD - http://www.dvdo.com/faq/faq_ishd.php#faq_hd3
     
  2. Clamicpo1

    Clamicpo1
    Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2002
    Messages:
    7,847
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Alvaston/Derby
    Ratings:
    +265
    The iScan can't process a 576p only 576i, to use the scaler you'll need the iScanHD+.

    Charlie
     
  3. DDRUK_Lawrence

    DDRUK_Lawrence
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2004
    Messages:
    37
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +1
    Clamicpo1, thanks for the reply but...

    From the link I gave to the DVDO website - http://www.dvdo.com/faq/faq_ishd.php#faq_hd9

    Quote "The iScan HD can deinterlace standard definition interlaced (480i/576i) signals on its analog inputs and scale progressive (480p/576p) signals, but it can not scale high definition (720p/1080i) signals." and the table also shows DVI (480p without HDCP) - Scaled (although the table does not show 576p I would assume this to be scaled too as per the quote).

    I also know that I can process 576p on the iScan's component inputs so I don't think your statement is the reason for my problem.
     
  4. Clamicpo1

    Clamicpo1
    Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2002
    Messages:
    7,847
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Alvaston/Derby
    Ratings:
    +265
    My apologies, hopefully you'll get it sorted.

    Charlie :mad:
     
  5. DDRUK_Lawrence

    DDRUK_Lawrence
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2004
    Messages:
    37
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +1
    I solved the problem. The MB200 has a DVI mode which is not documented in the user manual but is mentioned in the firmware release notes. PixelMagic don't bother updating their user manuals :( but anyway the iScan is processing the signal now :) To quote the MB200 firmware release notes:

    "remote "TV Modes"+"0" switchs between HDMI and DVI output formats
    for better compatibility with some DVI display and those do not want
    sound from the HDMI output."

    So after setting the MB200 to output 576p on it's HDMI I then had to press 'TV Mode' then '0' on the remote control!
     
  6. DarkDogZA

    DarkDogZA
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2005
    Messages:
    1,376
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    North-West London
    Ratings:
    +119
    Question...seeing that I have an MB200 as well and am looking at a processing solution. How much of a difference does the scaler make ? when viewing dvds off the mediabox ?
     

Share This Page

Loading...