1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

DVD_RTAV folder - to dvdr how?

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by xenole, Apr 14, 2005.

  1. xenole

    xenole
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Messages:
    114
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    I've copied the DVD_RTAV folder off a dvd-ram disc and have it on my pc, but now I'm unsure exactly what to do with it.
    It plays fine in WinDVD (although even though 3 separate recordings were made, there's only 1 VRO file for all 3).

    So:

    [a] How do I split the file so that I could for example put 1 recording on one disc and the others elsewhere.
    What do I use to burn/convert or whatever I need to do with it? eg TMPGenc DVD Author?
     
  2. musukebba

    musukebba
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2005
    Messages:
    689
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +16
    Yes, and Rasczak has a guide to this. If you search back for his posts, there's a link in his signature.
     
  3. xenole

    xenole
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Messages:
    114
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    Is there anything other than TMPGEnc to do this? Have mentioned before that it overwrites files needed to write to dvd so I can't actually burn it with usiny system restore every time.
     
  4. musukebba

    musukebba
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2005
    Messages:
    689
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +16
    Until someone else is better abe to advise with TMPG, you can use DVD Decrypter to separate out the titles from the original disc, and copy them to the PC HDD individually as MPEG2 files. The use an authoring app (DVD Movie Factory, Nero) to import the files and burn to DVD.
     
  5. Bal2005

    Bal2005
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2005
    Messages:
    170
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +3
    I use Nero 6

    Works fine for me

    Thanks
     
  6. Rasczak

    Rasczak
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Messages:
    21,201
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Argyll
    Ratings:
    +2,258
    Ulead products are a good alternative to TMPG Encoder. Ulead DVD MovieFactory is probably your best bet and I believe there is a free, time-limited trial.
     
  7. musukebba

    musukebba
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2005
    Messages:
    689
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +16
    Just to add that Ulead have done their usual trick of disabling AC3 handling in the DVDMF 4 trial version...
     
  8. Wackojacko32

    Wackojacko32
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2005
    Messages:
    239
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Pinxton, Derbys
    Ratings:
    +1
    I tried this a few days ago with a DVD-Ram disc recorded on my E65 and it wouldn't work. Both this, and Nero 6 trial version said the disc was copy protected. Any ideas?

    Thanks

    Wackojacko
     
  9. musukebba

    musukebba
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2005
    Messages:
    689
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +16
    ...and was the disc copy protected?
     
  10. Wackojacko32

    Wackojacko32
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2005
    Messages:
    239
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Pinxton, Derbys
    Ratings:
    +1
    I didn't think a DVD-Ram recording made on an E65 could be copy protected:), but no it wasn't.

    Wackojacko
     
  11. Bal2005

    Bal2005
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2005
    Messages:
    170
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +3
    Copy Proctected?

    Were you trying to copy the DVD-Ram direct to the DVD-R? If you were then you will have issues, one being the folder make up is for Ram disc's.

    You need to import the files from your DVD-Ram etc using Nero for example and since I don't use DVDMF as it doesn't do AC3 I use there other software.

    Thanks
     
  12. vorticonthe1st

    vorticonthe1st
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi,
    Sorry about the off-topic question, but I have searched for an answer to a question and came up here.
    Last night I made my usual recording on my Samsung DVD-Recorder to a DVD+RW. It usually make a VIDEO_TS file which I can work with, but for the 1st time since I got this recorder about 5 years ago, it didn't work. After looking at it on my computer, it showed as a DVD-RTAV file. Does anyone know what a DVD-RTAV file is, where it comes from, as far as what piece of equipment would make that kind of file (video camera, etc.), and why all of a sudden my recorder would record that type of file? There is no menu of any kind pertaining to that recorder to change the way a show is recorded.
    Any help greatly appreciated.

    By the way, I did unplug the recorder, plug it back in, reset the time, put in a new DVD+RW and tape a few minutes of something and it came out the way it should, as a VIDEO-TS file.
     
  13. Gavtech

    Gavtech
    Administrator

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2005
    Messages:
    20,255
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +5,717
    Was the recording made in VR Mode perhaps?
     
  14. vorticonthe1st

    vorticonthe1st
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    That's the thing, there is no choice to record in dvr mode. I've read the manual over and over, gone thru all the menu operations including setup. There is no dvr-type hard drive in the machine. You have to have a disc in it to record anything. That's what's so strange about this.
     
  15. Gavtech

    Gavtech
    Administrator

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2005
    Messages:
    20,255
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +5,717
    Can you tell me which model of machine is involved please?

    VR mode is a DVD disc mode - It is not necessary to have an HDD to record in this mode.

    Samsung manuals are notoriously poor - and sometimes inaccurate.
     
  16. vorticonthe1st

    vorticonthe1st
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    This is a Samsung DVD-VR330
     

Share This Page

Loading...