1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

DVD32R and Star Wars

Discussion in 'TAG McLaren Audio Owners' Forum' started by parky43007, Sep 28, 2004.

  1. parky43007

    parky43007
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2003
    Messages:
    233
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Tarragona
    Ratings:
    +16
    Hope someone may be able to help me.

    I recently purchased the Spanish version of the Star Wars Trilogy but cannot get any of the subtitles on any of the 3 films to work. My wife and I tend to watch DVD's in English with Spanish subtitles or vice versa.
    I have tried them in my old Sony 525 and they work. I also exchanged them but replacements are the same - no subtitles.
    I think the UK versions also have a Spanish soundtrack and subtitles.

    Has anyone with a DVD32R got them to work?? :lease:

    Shaun
     
  2. mlinhares

    mlinhares
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2001
    Messages:
    354
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Portugal
    Ratings:
    +1
    I had (have) the same problem with Spider Man. I think it was an authoring problem. I did a DVD backup and it showed two sets of portuguese subtitles and only one worked. Unfortunatelly the DVD picked the non-working set.
     
  3. parky43007

    parky43007
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2003
    Messages:
    233
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Tarragona
    Ratings:
    +16
    I did the same and two sets of subtitles are shown - a normal set and a "forced" set. I think the forced set must be the subtitles used when jabba the hut speaks. This set works.
    Unfortunately the normal ones don't on my DVD32 but do on my Sony.
     
  4. mlinhares

    mlinhares
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2001
    Messages:
    354
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Portugal
    Ratings:
    +1
    My DVD32 finally arrived today!!!

    I tried Star Wars and couldn't get subtitles but a friend of mine who also has a DVD32R (Maverick) showed me a way:

    1) Go to main menu and choose "subtitles" (in my case Portuguese).
    2) Choose "resume film". And the film begins with THX logo.
    3) Got for instance to chapter 5 and wait until the princess starts talking to Vader (no subtitles shown).
    4) Press "menu" on the remote and select "subtitles" again, choose the subtitles (in my case Portuguese) and don't do resume film, instead press menu again and you go back to where you were with subtitles.
    5) If that doesn't work try doing it again.
     
  5. parky43007

    parky43007
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2003
    Messages:
    233
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Tarragona
    Ratings:
    +16
    Pleased to hear that you finally got your DVD32 back.
    Hope it is performing well!

    Thanks for the tip. :smashin:
    I will try it out tonight.
     
  6. mlinhares

    mlinhares
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2001
    Messages:
    354
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Portugal
    Ratings:
    +1
    Unfortunatelly it only performed well for about one hour… it is still broken!
     
  7. parky43007

    parky43007
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2003
    Messages:
    233
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Tarragona
    Ratings:
    +16
    Sorry to hear that.
    I would be mighty p*****d off!

    What have IAG said??
     
  8. mlinhares

    mlinhares
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2001
    Messages:
    354
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Portugal
    Ratings:
    +1
    I am…
     
  9. parky43007

    parky43007
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2003
    Messages:
    233
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Tarragona
    Ratings:
    +16
    mlinhares
    Your tip worked :)

    Many thanks, :thumbsup: :thumbsup: :thumbsup:
     
  10. mlinhares

    mlinhares
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2001
    Messages:
    354
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Portugal
    Ratings:
    +1
    Ok, I'm glad it worked because the portuguese edition is diferent from the spanish edition and I was not sure that it would work.
     

Share This Page

Loading...