DVD32FLR 192 PSM DVI Output with Component

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by jonathanh, Apr 23, 2007.

Tags:
  1. jonathanh

    jonathanh
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2005
    Messages:
    98
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Aberdeenshire
    Ratings:
    +3
    I've finally got a plasma (Panny PH9) and so can use the PSM after 2 years

    Works fine on BNC for RGB and Component however with the DVI output if the PSM is set to COM the DVI outputs in the wrong colours.

    Is this normal, can I only use the DVI if the PSM is set to RGB.

    Is there some thing I can configure in the DVD or the Screen?

    Jonathan:confused:
     
  2. benzol

    benzol
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Messages:
    385
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Europe
    Ratings:
    +22
    Hi Jonathan,

    have a look in the manual (FLR) on page 39.

    You can set the FLR to output either component (YPbPr) or RGB.

    Power unit on.
    Remove disc (display showing "no disc").
    Then you can select RGB by pressing 7, 4, 2 on the Keypad (remote) or
    component: 2, 6, 6.

    This should solve your problem.

    Cheers

    Benzol
     
  3. jonathanh

    jonathanh
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2005
    Messages:
    98
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Aberdeenshire
    Ratings:
    +3
    Benzol,

    Thanks for this.

    Works fine for the BNC 'component' output but the DVI only works if the FLR is set to RGB. If the FLR is set to COM then although the BNC output is good the DVI colours are wrong.

    Any thoughts?

    Jonathan :confused: :confused:
     
  4. lovegroova

    lovegroova
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2002
    Messages:
    2,741
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Herts
    Ratings:
    +390
    What you are experiencing is normal. The DVI on the plasma probably only accepts an "RGB signal", no matter what the PSM is set to output.

    If you want to use both component and DVI connectors to the plasma, you need to change the setup on the plasma 'component' input to RGB rather than Y Pb Pr. You can do this via the menu.
     
  5. jonathanh

    jonathanh
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2005
    Messages:
    98
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Aberdeenshire
    Ratings:
    +3
    Lovegroova,

    Thank you. I was worried that something was wrong as the PSM had not been used for 2 years.

    The picture seems to looks better through component so I might disconnect the digital cable anyway.

    Jonathan :thumbsup:
     

Share This Page

Loading...