1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

DVD Set Top Player shows split screen

Discussion in 'Camcorders, Action Cams & Video Editing Forum' started by oxford, Sep 29, 2004.

1. oxford

oxford
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Help Please :)

I have transferred Camcorder footage via Firewire to my PC, Edited it and burnt it onto a DVD-R, it plays OK, in the PC. On the set top Player it shows 2 pictures with a split screen in the top half of the TV screen, and just a plain geen screen across the bottom half of TV screen. The sound seems to be OK.

Any Suggestions?

Thanks Peter

2. melliott1963

melliott1963

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +4
    Whilst I'm no expert, from what I understand this sounds to me like it could be something to do with the format you've used to render the final output. For viewing on TV's, the video needs to be interlaced, unless your TV supports progressive scan. To quote from a manual:-

"Video that is displayed on a television monitor is interlaced. This means that every frame of video is actually composed of two fields, each of which is made up of half of the lines that make the final frame. These two fields are woven together in alternate lines."

I would therefore suspect that you've saved your DVD without interlacing. When the TV is trying to display the picture, it has only got half of the information, which is why you can only see half the screen. PC monitors don't need interlacing, which is why it displays OK when you view it on your computer.