DVD RW Disks more than 4.7GB?

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by Pod Person, Oct 24, 2003.

1. Pod Person

Pod Person

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm new to dvd recorders and was wondering if its possible to get higher capacity disks than 4.7GB. I would like to have the ability to record 3 hours in sp mode when I eventually buy the Panasonic DMRE50.
    Sorry if it's a basic question but advice would be welcome.

2. Rasczak

Rasczak
    Distinguished Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +2,268
    Not at the moment. You can get double sided disks (which are 9.4GB) but these are just like two 'normal' disks stuck together.

Dual layer DVDRs are on the way - but it remains to be seen how compatible, reliable and cheap they will be. All existing DVDR hardware will be unable to record to these disks so you would need a machine designed for this purpose. Dual layer machines will likely arrive around the same time as BluRay recorders meaning they will have a relatively short shelf life IMHO.

3. 7MAT

7MAT

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +8
    The trouble with DVD-R 9.4GB flippers are that they are very expensive. PM me if you want to know where to get some!

Dual layer DVD+Rs are on the way, Pioneer has also announced that they will be producing a dual layer DVD-R media. But rumours are that DVD+R will come out first by some margin.

Also rumours have it that the lastest DVD+R drives (those that can support the new 8x and 16x speed media will only require a firmware upgrade to use dual layer.

Sony have just launched blueray for professional users in Europe under the name XD-CAM. So far no manufacturer intends to launch blueray for consumer use. So dual layer is the way to go!

The next DVD format will use holographic technology and will offer much more capacity of blueray.

7MAT

4. Rasczak

Rasczak
    Distinguished Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted: