1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

DVD-ROM and DVD-/+R/RW questions

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by Frazal666, Jan 22, 2005.

  1. Frazal666

    Frazal666
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi everyone. I am planning on buying a laptop an a few weeks, but thought id ask about DVD burning to help me choose which one.

    1. Would a DVD-/+R/RW drive be able to play S/VCD, DVD-/+R/RW, DVD-ROM, MP3 and any other discs? eg, play movies or Music?

    2. If I have a DVD-ROM drive and a DVD-/+R/RW drive connected to the laptop simultaneously, would it be possible to copy from a DVD in the ROM drive straight to an empty DVD disc in the RE-Writable drive without using the hard drive (Unless its temporary files)?

    3. PS2 games are recorded onto DVD-ROM, so if my first question is "Yes", would it work with PS2 games?

    4. If not, what if I copied the PS2 game to the hard drive then recorded it to DVD-/+R/RW? (Tell me any other way if possible)

    Thanks in advance. Just to let you know, I have not and prefer not to get a chiped playstation, as it dramatically shortens the life of it.
     
  2. MarkE19

    MarkE19
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Messages:
    17,121
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Rainham Essex
    Ratings:
    +2,389
    A DVD-/+R(W) burner will be able to read all the formats you list, but as for (S)VCD/MP3 etc this will be down to software installed to decode the formats rather than the drive being able to read them. The drive will just see these formats a raw data and pass it on to the relevant software to decode.
    As for PS2 games, I'm afraid I don't have a clue as I have never used one.

    Mark.
     
  3. MarkE19

    MarkE19
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Messages:
    17,121
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Rainham Essex
    Ratings:
    +2,389
    :oops: missed question 2

    Yes you can copy a disk in a DVD-ROM drive to DVD burner but it will require use of the HDD for temp files and yet again is down to the software.

    Mark.
     
  4. Frazal666

    Frazal666
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks. Any1 know bout PS2? Please?
     
  5. KraGorn

    KraGorn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    Messages:
    4,740
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Warrington
    Ratings:
    +27
    If the CDs/DVDs you're copying are copy-protected, such as all commercial DVDs and I suspect PS2 games, you'll need some software capable of defeating that of course. ;)
     
  6. Frazal666

    Frazal666
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Do you know of any software that is not too expensive?
     
  7. KraGorn

    KraGorn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    Messages:
    4,740
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Warrington
    Ratings:
    +27
    No experience of trying to copy PS2 discs, I use Alcohol for creating ISO images for the few games I have and also music CDs, it has an option for PS2 but I can't speak for its' results.

    For DVDs, DVD Shrink is pretty much the best though DVD Decrypter is all you'd need to simply create an ISO and burn it (Shrink is more useful for ripping to hard disk to play via a software player). Both are free.
     
  8. Frazal666

    Frazal666
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    could you tell me the website of which you got each from please.
     
  9. MarkE19

    MarkE19
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Messages:
    17,121
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Rainham Essex
    Ratings:
    +2,389
  10. Dillz

    Dillz
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2004
    Messages:
    236
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Gloucestershire
    Ratings:
    +8
    I'm sure I've read somewhere that the PS2 has to be "chipped" so that accepts copied games.
     
  11. MarkE19

    MarkE19
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Messages:
    17,121
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Rainham Essex
    Ratings:
    +2,389
    That's what I thought, but as I don't and never have owned a PS I didn't want to comment in case I was wrong.

    Mark.
     
  12. Frazal666

    Frazal666
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for the links. And do you need a chipped playstation to play copied games? I thought people said that to make people pay extra. Why shouldnt it play copied games? isnt it in the same format (Kinda)?
     

Share This Page

Loading...