1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

DVD Ripping for MCE My Movies

Discussion in 'Microsoft Windows' started by PannyAdams, Feb 11, 2005.

  1. PannyAdams

    PannyAdams
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    661
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Epsom
    Ratings:
    +5
    I am about to rip my collection of DVDs on to my HTPC hard drive to play back via My Movies. What is the best ripping software? And what format does it produce? I beleive MyMovies only plays the extentions mpg, mpeg, avi or mp4. I value quality over compression.

    Help!
     
  2. lisag

    lisag
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2004
    Messages:
    5,681
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +333
    Auto Gordian Knot - use Xvid compression, quality is awesome :thumbsup:
     
  3. drummerjohn

    drummerjohn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2001
    Messages:
    2,465
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Southampton
    Ratings:
    +186
    My Movies will do DVD ie VOBs
     
  4. Danieluwe

    Danieluwe
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2004
    Messages:
    311
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +88
    If quality is the highest priority i reccomend DVD Decrypter,
    This will pull the entire contents of a dvd from a disc and put it on your hard drive, while stripping out stuff like macrovision,

    This will create files that are compatible with mce2005 and my movies,

    Then if you want you can use a program such as clone dvd which can get rid of stuff like extras and the menus if you want, this program also gives you the option of reducing the bitrate to get a smaller file size,

    Personally i rip with dvd decrypter and then use clone dvd to strip out all the menus and extras leaving just the film at full quality,

    If you take this route you will need a lot of hard drive space but is definatly worth it if this is not an issue.
     
  5. newstuart

    newstuart
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2004
    Messages:
    1,648
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Northumberland
    Ratings:
    +58
    has anyone got any ideas on getting this to work on 2004 edition (my DVDs) as it will not play video ts files ?
     
  6. PannyAdams

    PannyAdams
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    661
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Epsom
    Ratings:
    +5
    Ok. Done a test rip with DVD Decrypter. When I play back from My Movies I get an "Unknown Error" from Window Media Player. But it plays in Windows Media Player in XP?

    Next, the play back in WM10 in XP isn't great the blacks are washed out and the detail isn't great. When I playback in PowerDVD it is awesome. Help me get through my MCE teething problems as my wife loves the front end!!!! Help!
     
  7. zAndy1

    zAndy1
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2002
    Messages:
    19,602
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +6,700
    I've also found the playback within MCE to be 'lacking'. Hence my purchase of Theatertek which is fantastic!

    Andy
     
  8. Danieluwe

    Danieluwe
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2004
    Messages:
    311
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +88
    Ok lets try and get my movies working first, when you rip a dvd with dvd decrypter in should create a folder labelled video_ts this needs to be placed in a sub-folder, generally just name this folder the name of your film, so it would be c:\your dvd\video_ts then when you enter the film details in my movies select the folder containing the movie (i.e c:\your dvd) then when you select watch through my movies it should play as if you have just inserted the disc itself, but as it sees the files as a dvd disc you will need to have installed a dvd decoder into your system (i reccomend nvidia dvd decoder). This should work fine, also make sure you have the newest version of my movies (v1.1).

    Not sure about the picture issues try this and see what its like and then maybe you can tweak the set,

    Dan
     
  9. lisag

    lisag
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2004
    Messages:
    5,681
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +333
    Hi, think I have replied to you on a separate thread, how are you getting on? It definitely sounds like a codec problem that MCE is rejecting. Try uninstalling all codecs and re-installing just PowerDVD6 then check that you get an extra Cyberlink Program in the settings menu of MCE (from the start menu). You then need to add Xvid codec and AC3 filter if you need them for playing back Xvid encoded films and AC3 encoded audio.

    BTW - just got round to setting up My Movies - awesome! :thumbsup:
     
  10. zAndy1

    zAndy1
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2002
    Messages:
    19,602
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +6,700
    You do have daemon tools installed don't you? My Movies needs it I think so if you haven't got that installed try that first!

    Cheers
    Andy
     
  11. lisag

    lisag
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2004
    Messages:
    5,681
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +333
    I haven't got it installed and mine works ok?
    I only have my movies set up for playing avi files from hard drive though, daemon tools is for offline DVD's I believe?
     
  12. zAndy1

    zAndy1
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2002
    Messages:
    19,602
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +6,700
    No daemon tools is for online dvd images, My Movies uses it to mount the image as a drive letter which can then be played in MCE. I'm not sure if that also applies to DVDs ripped as VOBs in a VIDEO_TS folder but I think it does. The fact your only playing AVI files explains why you don't need daemon tools.

    Cheers
    Andy
     
  13. lisag

    lisag
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2004
    Messages:
    5,681
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +333
    Oh, that makes sense - thanks :smashin:
     
  14. Danieluwe

    Danieluwe
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2004
    Messages:
    311
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +88
    My movies only needs daemon tools if you store your dvd images as .iso's
    If you store them just as video_ts folders then it is not needed,

    All daemon does is mount the iso's into a virtual drive on your system, but the same thing is acheived by using the video_ts system just without the need for an extra drive letter.
     

Share This Page

Loading...