DVD Resolutions

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by jda, Feb 10, 2004.

  1. jda

    jda
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've been recording the X-files on FX using the method outlined in the DVD-RAM

    ie Use FR135 to give 2hr 15mins for 3 episodes.

    I forgot to switch into Fr135 mode and recorded 1 episode on LP.

    Now Tmp DVD author complains about the resolution.

    Two eps are 720x 586 (full D1) and the odd one is 480x586

    Any ideas on how to get this to work, not sure if changing the headers would work as the playback would also be changed.

    How about this....

    Use a header editor to change head to fool TMP author to thinking its a 720x586. (restream?)

    Then use IFOedit to edit the vobs and change the resolution back to 480x586.

    Would this work???

    Any other ideas???


    Thanks,

    Jim
     
  2. Rasczak

    Rasczak
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Messages:
    21,687
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Warwick
    Ratings:
    +2,560
    I wouldn't recommend this. Even if you can get TMPG Enc Author to accept it there would almost certainly be problems when you compile the project which will affect the compatibility of the disk your trying to make etc and whether, in fact, it will work at all.

    Instead you can add video clips of different resolutions into TMPG Enc Author but they must be DIFFERENT TRACKS. I assume your trying to import the video by clicking on the "Add DVD Video" button putting all three episodes into one track? If so click on the "Add New Track" button and it should let you import the recording even though it's a different resolution. This will obviously affect how your menus are going to work so you might want to ensure each of the three episodes are different tracks.

    If you've been trying the above and it won't accept it (it is after all an unofficial resolution) you'll need to re-encode the episode.
     
  3. bugster

    bugster
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Firts of all, I assume your use of 586 for the vertical res should be 576, as this is the correct value for PAL DVD.

    480 * 576 is not a valid DVD resolution. It is in fact the resolution used for SVCD.

    You can do what you suggest and it should work. Compatibility with various DVD players would be suspect though.

    The other option is to re-encode to a resolution of 352 * 576, which IS valid for DVD. Use the same bitrate as the existing mpeg and the loss of quality should be minimal. Tmpgenc plus would do a good job of this.
     
  4. Rasczak

    Rasczak
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Messages:
    21,687
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Warwick
    Ratings:
    +2,560
    He quoted both figures in the resolution wrong - Panasonic/Toshiba VRO LP recordings are in 352 x 576. This is fully compliant with the DVD video structure so re-encoding on that score is not necessary. The compiling process of TMPG Enc Author is rigourous in ensuring all aspects are within the DVD-Video specifications so you should have no concerns about a successfully compiled project being compatible other than the type of disks/burning process you use.

    The issue of incompatible resolution is only one of concern if he's using an old version of TMPG Enc Author which didn't support the PAL 352 x 480 resolution or he was copying from a JVC DVD-RAM which uses a hybrid low resolution.
     
  5. bugster

    bugster
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    you mean PAL 352 * 576 don't you?

    @jda, if your 'odd' video is indeed 352 * 576, the just add it to TmpGenc DVDA as a seperate track and it should accept it without problems. The finished results should also be DVD compliant.
     
  6. Rasczak

    Rasczak
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Messages:
    21,687
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Warwick
    Ratings:
    +2,560
    Yeap - sorry. Now I doing it ***!

    Isn't that precisely what I just said?
     
  7. bugster

    bugster
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Almost.

    The phrase "a seperate track " is quite important here as different resolutions must be in different titlesets and that is how TmpGenc DVDA handles things, each track becomes a titleset.

    Sorry if I am being pedantic;)
     
  8. jda

    jda
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am using a JVC and it does record in some funny resolutions compared to the Panasonic models. I did post a while ago but no one answered.

    I did mean 720x576 (7&8 keys are next to each other and got called away before I checked)

    XP/FR60-FR150 gives Res=720x576

    FR155-190 gives Res=544x576

    FR195-FR240/LP gives res=480x576

    FR245-FR300 gives res=352x576

    FR300-FR360/EP gives res=352x288

    Big problem if programme is over 2.5 hours as 544x576 is an old Laserdisc resolution (I think?)

    All episodes are seperate titles but I thought you had to open video rather than file to get it from the disc? - I could just start a new project then get it to HD then add file(???)

    Can you mix 720 and 352 on the same DVD with TMP author ???

    I don't really want to re-encode to a lower resoltuion as I suppose this would mean de-mux and then encode using Tmp Plus !


    Jim
     
  9. Rasczak

    Rasczak
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Messages:
    21,687
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Warwick
    Ratings:
    +2,560
    I did wonder if you were using the JVC. As you say it uses some 'funny' resolutions that aren't in the VR specification and so aren't supported by VR capable applications such as TMPG Enc Author.

    Yes - but you must enter them as different tracks. But it will only accept official VR Mode resolutions which is where I think your recording is falling down.

    Your best bet is to re-encode the material to the 'official' resolution of 352 x 576 which isn't ideal. I'm sure if it's an X-Files episode though it will be repeated so just keep the other two episodes safe and re-record it when it comes on again.
     
  10. jda

    jda
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Tried it out last night, 3 episodes as seperate tracks.

    First got the 480x576 track onto HD then added 2 from video and the last as a file. Edited etc and got to creation stage.

    Then it complained about 480x576 not being a valid resolution and stopped.

    I know my player will play as I have tried a disc with different resolutions on.

    Looks like I have to try a few tricks on Saturday when I have more time.

    Any more ideas welcomed....


    Jim
     
  11. bobones

    bobones
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2002
    Messages:
    453
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +7
    Some dvd players can play 480x576 or 544x576 (my Panny S75 can). If that's the case with yours, use DVDPatcher to change the first header of the mpg or vob to be 720x576 (or 704x or 352x) so that TMPGEnc DvD Author will accept the file as input. It won't be displayed properly in DVD Author's editing screens, but it the final dvd should look fine in windvd and a compatible dvd player. If you're starting from a RAM disk, copy the .vro file to your PC's hard drive and rename the extension to be .mpg.

    If your dvd player doesn't play the 480x576 recording correctly, you'll need to go through the time consuming process of re-encoding to a dvd compliant resolution. I have found that Womble MPEG-VCR does a decent job at re-encoding, and it can also be used to do frame accurate edits to your mpeg files.
     
  12. jda

    jda
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Tried this last night, I was going to use IFOEdit to change the resolution back to 480 but of course that says its not a valid resolution.

    Funny the player or recorder *won't* play SVCD's but will play recordings made in 480x576 (SVCD mode)!!!

    Still no luck, looks like a re-encode job.


    Jim
     
  13. Zacabeb

    Zacabeb
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2002
    Messages:
    474
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +9
    544 is 3/4 D1 plus blanking margins (528 + 16 pixels). Laserdisc used analog composite video, so I think references to it having 544 lines of resolution is just because 3/4 D1 may be the closest of the digital component formats to Laserdisc in terms of bandwidth.
     
  14. bobones

    bobones
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2002
    Messages:
    453
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +7
    Tivo uses 544x576 and 480x576 too.
     

Share This Page

Loading...