1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

DVD Region free

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by steve k, Mar 27, 2004.

  1. steve k

    steve k
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2001
    Messages:
    562
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Birmingham
    Ratings:
    +9
    Can anyone tell me how to make my computer DVD reader/ writer region free, at the moment it can only be changed 5 times B4 it is frozen.

    Have been told there is some softwear that can make it region free.

    Thanks Steve :smashin:
     
  2. embee

    embee
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    plenty info here :smashin: not needed to do it myself so I can't offer you any advice

    edit: hope you feel comfortable flashing the firmware :D (if that's what you do)
     
  3. ldoodle

    ldoodle
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm using DVD Region Master with PowerDVD 5 and it works perfectly everytime... even with RCE disks, and on RPC-2 protected drives.

    :smashin:
     
  4. Setenza

    Setenza
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2002
    Messages:
    3,345
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +226
    DVD Region Free

    Try the above link. Flash upgrades to firmware can be risky. This software alternative works well on all laptops and PC's I've used in the last 3 years.
     
  5. nwgarratt

    nwgarratt
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2002
    Messages:
    26,258
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,820
    If you have XP or 2000. Try DVD43 (google search finds it).

    It is freeware and make the drive work as region free otherwise, I use Slysoft's AnyDVD.
     
  6. steve k

    steve k
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2001
    Messages:
    562
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Birmingham
    Ratings:
    +9
    Thanks everyone who has replied :clap:
     
  7. h0l1yw0od

    h0l1yw0od
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2000
    Messages:
    477
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +13
    Good thread!! :thumbsup: I just got DVD43 and it seems to work. The only problem it seems to have is with my R4 copy of Reservoir Dogs but it eventually played so i guess it s alright. Thanks :clap:

    I wish it would work with Windows Media Player too as i love the little window you can have on the toolbar showing video.
     
  8. Reiner

    Reiner
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2000
    Messages:
    3,315
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    61
    Location:
    Germany
    Ratings:
    +13
    Moved to here.

    Reiner
    Moderator, AV Forums
     
  9. esta56

    esta56
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2003
    Messages:
    191
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Grays, Essex
    Ratings:
    +6
    I don't understand why you need to 'flash' anything. I use AnyDVD and that takes care of everything, not had a problem yet.
     

Share This Page

Loading...