1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Dvd recorder with VGA out for a Panasonic TH42PW6B

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by rubadub, Feb 6, 2005.

  1. rubadub

    rubadub
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Has anybody a dvd recorder with VGA out for a Panasonic TH42PW6B. I figure this would save me having to get a scart or component card for the plasma or the JS conversion box.

    If I get a player/recorder with VGA out will I be able to connect a scart input into it from a games console and have the output through the VGA?
     
  2. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    none with VGA our but PWD6 (did you buy from RS?) can accept component into VGA terminal so an E55/65/85 etc would be ideal need a 3 RCA>D-sub cable available form lektropacks
     
  3. AV Junky

    AV Junky
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2002
    Messages:
    1,208
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Cheshire, UK
    Ratings:
    +67
    Am trawling throught the grey cells here, but doesn't the top-of-the range Philips DVD-R have a VGA output for its prog-scan (DVD-R 1000, or something like)? No idea if you can still buy the thing, or whether you'd actually want to, as HD's suggestion makes more sense.
     
  4. rubadub

    rubadub
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks guys. I did some searching yesterday and I could have sworn I saw on this forum that you cannot connect component directly to the pansonic.

    I cannot find the thread now but have found a few more saying that you can!
     
  5. Mep

    Mep
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2004
    Messages:
    9,502
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +460
    you can't do component to vga on the pw7 but you can on the 6..maybe that is what you saw.
     
  6. AV Junky

    AV Junky
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2002
    Messages:
    1,208
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Cheshire, UK
    Ratings:
    +67
    Spot on, mep.

    rubadub - you weren't seriously doubting the venerable HD on his knowledge of the the 6-series plasmas were you?
     
  7. rubadub

    rubadub
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    hehe, only new here, didn't see he had 10,000 posts under his belt!
    Have a lite-on 5006 dvdrecorder arriving tomorrow and component leads on the way too. Thanks guys.
     
  8. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
  9. rubadub

    rubadub
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks, I have these on order since the weekend.
    http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&category=3759&item=5166745907

    http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&category=3668&item=6743910685

    The component cable has me a bit worried .I am pretty sure he just means you shouldnt expect to connect a pc to a normal TV with the cable.

    he says...

    "Note: The Device to which the "VGA" connector is connected, needs to support Component video(which is actually "sync on Y", Y-Pr-Pb)or "sync-on-green" for this type of cable to work. These cables are not compatible with computer monitor ports or Y/Cr/Cb video. Check your Plasma, Projector or HDTV manual, otherwise your picture won't sync! In this case you need a "transcoder".

    The 2 items cost me $36.70 including delivery

    Are the other 2 leads on a 5-RCA lead of any use with the PW6?
     
  10. stevelup

    stevelup
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2002
    Messages:
    6,118
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Swindon
    Ratings:
    +836
    Hi

    The Component<>VGA cable you have bought will be fine with the 6 Series Panasonic.

    Steve
     
  11. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    description is spot on
     
  12. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    That's fine, you have the right cable. PW6 plasmas sometimes come with component enabled on the VGA port, more usually RGB. Connect it all up, and if the colours are well weird, you just press 'setup' on the panasonic remote, and the option you need is top of the list.
     
  13. rubadub

    rubadub
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks Steve,
    I can sleep easy now! I have my PW6 since friday but have no cables! All I can do is look at the option screens.
     
  14. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    Steve???
     
  15. stevelup

    stevelup
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2002
    Messages:
    6,118
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Swindon
    Ratings:
    +836
    Horny???
     
  16. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    Not now darling...
     
  17. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    ah steve.....sorry 3 of us replied.LOL
     
  18. rubadub

    rubadub
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks to all 3 of you!

    I was typing the reply the first when the next 2 were typing, getting more like a chatroom with these fast responses.

    I'll let you know how my ebay cables turn out. I have a very cheap unsheilded VGA extender so I suppose a test would be to see if the picture gets much worse when I use it.
     
  19. rubadub

    rubadub
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
  20. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    so whats the verdict?
     
  21. rubadub

    rubadub
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Works great, very pleased with cable and screen. I am trying to fix it up to the PC with powerstrip and am scouring the forums for a good setting. The vga-rca cable looks like a very good build quality, the m/m looks just like any old cable.

    I think I noticed the screen moving when connected to the PC, I had set the screen saver on the PW6 to wobble, but the effect I saw looks like the entire screen shifts up 1 pixel to me. I havent watched a film with the wobble on so can't verify yet.
     
  22. stevelup

    stevelup
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2002
    Messages:
    6,118
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Swindon
    Ratings:
    +836
    Yep. Wobble drove me crackers so I turned it off almost immediately.

    It's really not necessary on the latest generation Panasonic panels.

    Steve
     
  23. Brooktop

    Brooktop
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2005
    Messages:
    2,019
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +86
    I've got wobble turned on and I can't say I can see any difference. Do I need a trip to the opticians?
     
  24. stevelup

    stevelup
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2002
    Messages:
    6,118
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Swindon
    Ratings:
    +836
    I think that visit to an opticians may be beneficial!!! It moves the picture around by a good inch.

    I was trying to adjust my panel for minimum overscan and couldn't work out why it looked different every time I went back and checked it.

    Put the sky guide up on the screen and focus on one point. You'll see it moving.

    Steve
     
  25. swarrans

    swarrans
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2001
    Messages:
    404
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Kent, UK
    Ratings:
    +0
    Wow - those are big pixels!.... ;)
     
  26. stevelup

    stevelup
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2002
    Messages:
    6,118
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Swindon
    Ratings:
    +836
    It's not the size that matters, it's what you do with it :D

    Needless to say... It moves the screen by more than *one* pixel!
     

Share This Page

Loading...