1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

DVD recorder with PS

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by sirjohnofbalham, Sep 16, 2002.

  1. sirjohnofbalham

    sirjohnofbalham
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Now that PAL progressive scan has been given the go-ahead, who's going to be the first out with a DVD recorder with PALPS?
     
  2. fredl

    fredl
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Messages:
    39
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Gothenburg, Sweden
    Ratings:
    +0
    Apparently the asian version of DVDR895 does PAL-PS out of the box. Do a search on avsforum for more info.
     
  3. Kirk

    Kirk
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2002
    Messages:
    309
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Somewhere on t'internet
    Ratings:
    +2
    Am I right in saying that they can only record in Dolby Digital 2.0 though? Regardless of source, Sky+ for example?
     
  4. fredl

    fredl
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Messages:
    39
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Gothenburg, Sweden
    Ratings:
    +0
    That's true for all consumer dvd recorders and it isn't likely to change anytime soon.
     
  5. Kirk

    Kirk
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2002
    Messages:
    309
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Somewhere on t'internet
    Ratings:
    +2
    Yep I agree, I think I worded my original question wrongly.

    I was asking if all DVD recorders can only do DD 2.0 in lieu of 5.1

    For me, that makes it a bit of a disapointment, the same is true of Sky+ itself, the number of programes that broadcast 5.1 does not justify the price.

    And the outlay of £300 + £10 a month ontop of your subscription, plus the additional £12 a month if you want to keep your existing Digibox up and running in another room makes it FAR from a good deal :-(

    Sky broadcasting DD5.1, Widescreen & a seperate Combi DVD-R/HD Recorder (that can actually record 5.1) would be a dream come true! :D
     
  6. Bob Todd

    Bob Todd
    Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2000
    Messages:
    3,080
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +373
    surely some of these recorders have the ability to record 5.1, its simply disabled in the firmware?
     
  7. fredl

    fredl
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Messages:
    39
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Gothenburg, Sweden
    Ratings:
    +0
    No they haven't. The unconfirmed theory is that it is a request from the studios to. Also a 5.1 stream would require more space which already is limited on the 4.7GB discs. A PC DVD-R of course can burn DVD:s with any type of sound track.
     
  8. Skid Solo

    Skid Solo
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2001
    Messages:
    95
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Hertfordshire
    Ratings:
    +0
    Just been in to Curry's and I was told that the Philips DVDR880 can record in 5.1 from a 5.1 source such as SKY+, even the Currys advertising cardboard that the unit was mounted in had detaisl of this.

    I think someone should tell Curry's or perhaps tell Philips that there product has some extra features !!!
     
  9. Jasonjo

    Jasonjo
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2001
    Messages:
    2,648
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +112
    Hmmm....advice from Currys...that'll be accurate because they really know their stuff when it comes to AV gear....:p
     
  10. fredl

    fredl
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Messages:
    39
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Gothenburg, Sweden
    Ratings:
    +0
    That would be a neat trick! The last time I checked it didn't have a digital input (coax or optical)
     
  11. sirjohnofbalham

    sirjohnofbalham
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I can now answer my own question - it's Philips with the DVDR1000Mk11. Looks promising. See news section for details.
     
  12. michaelab

    michaelab
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2002
    Messages:
    528
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Lisbon
    Ratings:
    +10
    The Philips DVDR 1000MkII only has PAL prog. scan on material you've recorded yourself, not on pre-recorded PAL DVDs. It came out before PAL prog. scan was given the go ahead. This is presumably alterable via a firmware update though.

    Michael.
     
  13. jmack

    jmack
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    yes the philips 890 has progressive scan pal/ntsc with component imput and out
     
  14. fredl

    fredl
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Messages:
    39
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Gothenburg, Sweden
    Ratings:
    +0
    Aren't you confusing Component vs Component RGB Input / Output?

    AFAIK there isn't even a component connector on the the European version.
     
  15. jmack

    jmack
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
  16. michaelab

    michaelab
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2002
    Messages:
    528
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Lisbon
    Ratings:
    +10
    I have an 890 and it doesn't have component out or prog. scan.

    The player shown at www.hivizone.com is the US version of the 890. The US version certainly has component in/out instead of SCART sockets because the US doesn't use SCART. The European version has RGB in/out on the SCART sockets.

    As to prog scan, the European version doesn't have that either. There's no mention of it in my manual and also no DCDi/Faroudja logos anywhere. This is likely since PAL prog. scan isn't legal yet and NTSC prog. scan in Europe is only useful to a few enthusiasts (like us), not the mass martket the player is aimed at.

    At US$1200 the US 890 is also considerably more expensive than the European version.

    So just to reiterate: any 890 available in Europe does not have component out or prog. scan.

    Michael.
     
  17. Xeonic

    Xeonic
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I think philips have confused the issue themselves, referring to "a component input" on the european models in their literature. They are in fact talking about scart RGB, as opposed to three phono YUV or the like. Of course R,G,B is a componentized (sp??) signal, but the wording is probably laziness in the technical writing since they are using same term can be used for both markets.
     

Share This Page

Loading...