DVD recorder with HD - which one??!!!

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by melchizedik, Nov 5, 2003.

1. melchizedik

melchizedik
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hope someone can offer some help. I have looked through the postings so have some inkling of what I want...which is a dvd recorder with a hard drive. It's unlikely that I will use a cam, so my need is purely to watch and record. I have a short list of what is currently available:
    Panasonic e100
    Pioneer 5100h
    Samsung H40e
    JVC xv-ddv1

I am new to this whole thing and am also planning to update my hifi over the next few months. So, SACD and DVD-A is not important either, although it does seem that if I want quality I will have to buy a separate cd/sacd player and dvd-a player probably. Hybrids do appear to be improving, eg: The new Denon. I also want to get surround sound and am looking at one of the Arcam amps.

So, what I'm trying to get at is that I want something that is going to be compatible with the other equipment that I plan to buy.

Although cost is not an issue I dont want to buy something with features that I will never/rarely use. Quality and not quantity is the issue here.

Please forgive my rambling - I'm just trying to give you an idea of where I'm coming from. So my question to you is: What do I buy from the short list above, and are there other machines that need to consider. Is it worth waiting?
    By the way, I use a Loewe Mimo TV - if that helps at all.
    Thanks
    :)

2. Rasczak

Rasczak
    Distinguished Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +2,265
    These are HDD/DVD combos (not HDD/DVDR combos).

The HDD/DVDR combos currently available are (cheapest first):
    - Toshiba RX3
    - Panasonic HS2
    - Pioneer 5100
    - Panasonic E100