DVD Recorder recommendations Please

nemesiz

Standard Member
As a complete newbie, I’m looking for advice, recommendations, and personal reviews. At present I’m contemplating purchasing a DVD Recorder to replace the video recorder and the budget is between £150 - 200 (without a Hard Drive) to £280 (with a Hard Drive) for Christmas. The DVD Recorder will primarily used to record television programs from cable (NTL Pace Digital Box connected via an RGB Out / In Scart). Also the recordings will also be viewed on a second Toshiba SD 130E or 210E DVD player, so the media must be DVD R/W compatible.

After reading which ‘DVD Recorder’ and searching AV Forums, and online- magazine reviews, I’m possibly leaning towards the Pioneer DVR 230 or 433-H, as the Panasonic DMR E-10/30 and Toshiba RD XS-34 lacks the DVD-RW compatibility in Video Mode. Is there any new DVD Recorders to be released before Christmas from other manufacturers JVC, etc?

Current Setup:

Toshiba 32ZD26P 32 Inch Flat Screen Television with Pal Progressive Scan
NTL Digital Box Pace Model D14001NC.

Thank You

Shane

H

HelenS

nemesiz said:
As a complete newbie, I’m looking for advice, recommendations, and personal reviews. At present I’m contemplating purchasing a DVD Recorder to replace the video recorder and the budget is between £150 - 200 (without a Hard Drive) to £280 (with a Hard Drive) for Christmas. The DVD Recorder will primarily used to record television programs from cable (NTL Pace Digital Box connected via an RGB Out / In Scart). Also the recordings will also be viewed on a second Toshiba SD 130E or 210E DVD player, so the media must be DVD R/W compatible.

After reading which ‘DVD Recorder’ and searching AV Forums, and online- magazine reviews, I’m possibly leaning towards the Pioneer DVR 230 or 433-H, as the Panasonic DMR E-10/30 and Toshiba RD XS-34 lacks the DVD-RW compatibility in Video Mode. Is there any new DVD Recorders to be released before Christmas from other manufacturers JVC, etc?