1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

dvd recorder quality

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by osmyth, Nov 11, 2002.

1. osmyth

osmyth
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +1
    I am new to this so please be gentle!

I am thinking of getting a dvd recorder to replace an old video recorder. After reading a lot of stuff about recording modes and quality I'm still confused about DVD.
    How do the LP and EP modes on the e30/880 compare with vhs?The 1 or 2 hour modes seem to be advertised as dvd standard, but what if you're recording a whole night's worth?
    For mainly recording and replaying (rather than saving to write once) the e30's functionality seems better? (Or fork out extra for the HDD HS2?)

First of many questions i'm sure.
    cheers, Owen.

2. mark pearce

mark pearce

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi Owen, (it’s a game this choosing a DVD recorder, ain’t it? !!)

I seem to be in a similar boat to you! Currently favouring a Panny E30 over the Philips 880/890 pairing (mainly due to the better (mini disc-type) editing capabilities of DVD-RAM), but can’t help wondering (like you!) whether I might do better to hold off for hard disk-equipped recorders to come down in price a bit!

I must confess I haven’t even had an opportunity to have a decent “play” with a DVD recorder yet (even though my father ‘liberated’ a late Panny E20 for a song, a few months back), but I have read quite a few reviews. So wonder whether these few selective quotes might be of any interest to you??