DVD Recorder jargon

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by Dolbyz, Jul 7, 2005.

1. Dolbyz

Dolbyz

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm very new to DVD Recorders ... haven't got one and have no idea what I want! But, what do people mean by ...

Time slip
    Buffer
    Chase Recording

How does PAUSE live TV? When you click PAUSE on the remote, does the HDD start recording? And if you press it again, you start watching what was just? Can you rewind? ;)

Also, heard that some machines record automatically (Philips and JVC) - don't you run out of space, or does it delete automatically as well? When you want to record - is there space available then?

Last thing - what if the HDD gets corrupt. Can you replace them? Can you replace them anyway, like with a bigger HDD?

2. maldonian

maldonian

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +91
    Welcome. If you can afford it I suggest you should get a DVD recorder with a HDD. My own preference is one that will record on DVD-RAM for the versatility and longevity of the media, but I'm sure not everyone will agree with me.

Time Slip
    Chase Play

These refer to the same thing, the ability to play a recording while it is being recorded. If you start off playing as close as possible to the point that is being recorded then you will be watching almost live. If you move the point you are watching back through the recording, the point you are watching will be delayed relative to the live recording. Panasonic call this Time Slip and Pioneer call it Chase Play.

Buffer