1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

DVD Recorder - help?

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by cagey, Mar 7, 2004.

1. cagey

cagey
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Guys,

A complete newbie here looking for some help...

I currently have a multi-region Pioneer NS-DV55 home cinema set up, a Sky TV box and a PS2. I have 3 scarts on my TV - one for the Sky box, one for the DVD & one for the PS2.

I want to buy a DVD recorder, so the first thing I want to know is if anyone can recommend a model? I want to be able to play the disks back on another player though, which I understand the Panasonics are no good for. I can pay up to £600 and I want one with a HDD.

Another question is - because the NS-DV55 runs my surround sound speakers, would I have to plug the new recorder into this? If so, how would I do it? And I know that you can select the programmes you want to record on the recorder itself, but how is this connected to the Sky box for this to work.

Lastly, I only have 3 scart sockets on my TV, so would the recorder need to be plugged into the TV, or could it play via the DV55?

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Don't want much do I ?!?

Cheers.

2. Rasczak

Rasczak
    Distinguished Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +2,203
    Well the HDD models within your budget are:
    - Panasonic HS2
    - Pioneer 5100
    - Toshiba RX30

The top-of-the-range Panasonic E100 is just out of your price range (at around £700). There are a few nice looking models on the immediate horizon which might be worth waiting for: the Panasonic E85 and two JVC models.