Dismiss Notice
Attention AVForums app / Tapatalk users
Sadly GDPR means that, from 25th, we can no longer offer access to AVForums via the branded app or Tapatalk.
Click here for more information.

dvd-ram to dvd-r

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by barneypops, Sep 2, 2005.

  1. barneypops

    barneypops
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    if i made a recording on dvd-ram, can i then archive it for permanant storage to a dvd-r and even perhaps edit it. would i need a pc editing software to do this?

    confused
     
  2. ROYOLD

    ROYOLD
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2005
    Messages:
    3,898
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Royton, Oldham. Lancs.
    Ratings:
    +296
    If you have (or obtain) a dvd PLAYER such as one of the Pansonics or JVC which will play dvd-ram discs recorded in either SP or LP mode then you can use this player to transfer
    ram recordings to DVD-R on your dvd recorder. I use my Panasonic S27 dvd player to do exactly this when transferring recordings to the Panasonic E85.

    You would need to edit the dvd-ram recordings in the dvd recorder first. Personally I never do this because its very time consuming. My S27 player cost £60 from Digital Direct and was modified for multiregion prior to delivery by City Link.
     
  3. gobstopper

    gobstopper
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2004
    Messages:
    552
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +69
    If you opt for the PC route you will need a piece of software to accomplish this.

    Look at this thread as it should tell you everything you should need to know. I haven't gone for a recorder yet, but I read this thread and it was really informative.
     
  4. maldonian

    maldonian
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2004
    Messages:
    919
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Ratings:
    +91
    ROYOLD:
    You can high speed dub DVD-RAM recordings to the HDD in the E85. You don't need to use a separate player.

    barneypops:
    You didn't say what recorder you are using. If you're using DVD-RAM then I guess it's probably (but not necessarily) a non-HDD Panasonic.

    If it does not have a HDD then you can use ROYOLD's method. Edit your recordings on DVD-RAM before copying them to DVD-R.

    If it has a HDD then dub your DVD-RAM recordings to the HDD, then dub from the HDD to DVD-R. You can edit the recordings on the DVD-RAM or on the HDD. Or you can create a playlist on the DVD-RAM or on the HDD to perform the editing and then dub the playlist.

    If you want better editing options then use the PC route, but I suggest you try the recorder route first to see if you're happy with the result.
     
  5. ROYOLD

    ROYOLD
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2005
    Messages:
    3,898
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Royton, Oldham. Lancs.
    Ratings:
    +296
    maldonian:

    Thanks for the reminder - I sometimes forget the E85 has the hard drive as I seldom use it. Since purchasing the two twin tuner PVR's I now usually transfer to DVD-R via this route.

    Have never used the PC route to transfer anything to DVDR. I read on another forum
    that it takes approx seven hours to transfer a three hour VHS tape to DVDR using a capture card on the PC. With a DVD recorder this can, of course, be done in three
    hours of real time, assuming no editing with the pause button.
     
  6. HMHB

    HMHB
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2001
    Messages:
    26,715
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Nottinghamshire
    Ratings:
    +5,481
    I've copied a RAM recording onto the hard drive of my E85 and edited it there. When I come to create a DVD-R from this it tells me it can't do it as a high speed dub, is this correct ?
     
  7. maldonian

    maldonian
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2004
    Messages:
    919
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Ratings:
    +91
    If you created the DVD-RAM recording in the first place in your E85, the 'DVD-R Rec for High Speed mode' setting must have been Off when you did it. The ability to high speed dub to DVD-R is determined by this setting when you create the original recording. It is not affected by subsequent dubbing or editing.

    On the other hand, if you created the DVD-RAM recording in a non-HDD Panny, this setting is not provided (unfortunately). A DVD-RAM recording that is made in a non-HDD Panny, then dubbed to the HDD of an HDD Panny, cannot be high speed dubbed to DVD-R whatever you do.
     
  8. HMHB

    HMHB
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2001
    Messages:
    26,715
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Nottinghamshire
    Ratings:
    +5,481
    Aha, that would explain it then, the original RAM recording was done in my E55. Thanks for clearing that up as it was confusing me somewhat !
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice