1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

dvd ram or dvd rw or HDD?

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by jopereira, Nov 26, 2004.

1. jopereira

jopereira
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    I was half way through "dvd ram or dvd rw?" thread, but I couldn't read any more... sorry.

My question is why so many arguments? Aren't they 'dying'?

I'm new to this, and thus I don't have inertia towards one of the formats...
    Think: why do I need DVD-RAM? Because it is a better format to manipulate, more like a..... HDD!!.

Please, everyone, buy a HDD machine with DVD-RAM, +RW or -RW, whichever fill your needs. But you really don't need a DVD-RAM, nor a DVD-RW in VR mode (which is about the same in compatibility terms). You NEED flexibility of a HDD, and a DVD recording format that can be read in most DVD players. I know I 'cannot' edit in DVD-Video mode, but I really don't need it. I burn a DVD already edited! (in HDD...)

The argument that RAM is the most popular format is wrong because we are shifting to HDD machines that will make the advantages of RAM equal to zero!
    Why buy a 9Gb disk if I can buy a 80Gb one? The true of yesterday is not true anymore. Just look around: the tide is turning.

I bought a Pioneer, when I really wanted a +RW compatible machine (I have many +RW disks). So, why did I buy Pioneer? Because it was unnecessary to have +RW compatibility, just needed to buy a few -RW disks; I won't use DVD to direct record anything, I'll use HDD instead. The DVD recording is just to take records out of the recorder, so any COMPATIBLE format would do. "Compatible" means +/-RW, not DVD-RAM.

If you already have a recorder without HDD and it fulfils your needs, just keep it. If not buy a HDD machine.