DVD Publicity Shots

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by Barry.NI, Feb 26, 2005.

  1. Barry.NI

    Barry.NI
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2004
    Messages:
    446
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Chester
    Ratings:
    +11
    I am considerind reviewing DVDs, whereby I would be required to transfer stills, or publicity shots from the DVD playing on the PC, into a word based Windows' programme. Despite being familiar with DTP & Digital Photography, I have been unable to do this.
    Can anyone assist, or point me to a thread where this has been covered.
     
  2. Daneel

    Daneel
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Messages:
    2,856
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +8
    Use PowerDVD/WinDVD to capture the frames you want. Locate the files, import them into your choice of word processor / DTP package.
     
  3. Barry.NI

    Barry.NI
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2004
    Messages:
    446
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Chester
    Ratings:
    +11
    Daneel,

    O.K. got the files on the screen, with Win DVD, I can play the dvd, but when freeze framing the shot I want, still cannot see how to get this into a useable picture, for insertion into the word file. Normally one could right click, and copy the picture, however this does not seem to work. Sorry for being thick.

    I might have more success with the dedicated publicity pictures, but the not all DVDs have these in the extras.
     
  4. Rambles

    Rambles
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2004
    Messages:
    10,445
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +2,154
    Funnily enough I was playing around with this yesterday.
    In MCE2005 (although I am sure any prog will do) pause the video and press the 'print screen' button on the keyboard. This will capture the entire screen and copy it to the windows clipboard.

    Now open up a graphics prog, or Microsoft Paint if you have nothing better and do edit-paste, hey presto the screen is there. You can now save it as a bmp, or jpeg, whatever.

    I know have a high def video clip as my wallpaper on the plasma!
     
    Last edited: May 29, 2017
  5. Rambles

    Rambles
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2004
    Messages:
    10,445
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +2,154
    Did this work out?
    :cool:
     
  6. GrahamC

    GrahamC
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2001
    Messages:
    2,259
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Morecambe, U.K.
    Ratings:
    +69
    PowerDVD and I assume WinDVD have frame capture from within the sofware itself.
     
  7. Barry.NI

    Barry.NI
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2004
    Messages:
    446
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Chester
    Ratings:
    +11
    Thanks for your help, unfortunately I have had mixed results, in as much sometimes it works, and sometimes the picture from the video comes out as a black screen, though the background (i.e. the desktop) is clearly visible. When it did work, then there was no problem saving the clip down through the system to a useable format. :confused:
     
  8. Rambles

    Rambles
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2004
    Messages:
    10,445
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +2,154
    Ah, hold on I may have told you wrong, you might need to press alt and print screen together, see this link;

    All Free Clipart

    Also do you xp with sp2 and all the updates?
    Might make a difference, don't know for sure
     
    Last edited: May 29, 2017
  9. stlic

    stlic
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2004
    Messages:
    769
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +19
    Barry if you change whatever program your using from utlising overlay to VMR you should be able to use alt+print screen as suggested. Only problem comes when trying to capture a video being played through overlay. Thing is certain proggies make a point of using overlay as the prefered renderer; other programs zoomplayer and Media player classic for example let you select the mode to use.

    I believe Media Player Classic actually defaults to VMR with it's built in codecs so that would be ideal.
     
  10. Barry.NI

    Barry.NI
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2004
    Messages:
    446
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Chester
    Ratings:
    +11
    Lisa & Stlic,

    Some success, ALT + Scrn Prt works fine, and the picture is useable. I suspect that it is in overlay format, as the picture is floating on a black background, which makes it awkward to move around the document without leaving half the picture behind. I am using Windows XP Home & WIN DVD for VAIO., to play the DVD. There is loads of memory and a fast CPU. I shall look into downloading Media Player Classic; could you define VMR?

    Barry
     
  11. stlic

    stlic
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2004
    Messages:
    769
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +19
    VMR basically uses DirectX as an alternative to the overlay. With overlay the image is passed to the graphics card to display and by then it's too far gone to capture easily. VMR used microsoft's own renderer meaning that print/scr works fine.
     

Share This Page

Loading...