DVD Player with DVI

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by Hicksy, Aug 24, 2004.

  1. Hicksy

    Hicksy
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi guys,

    Can anybody suggest a DVD player that incoporates the DVI input as my tv has that facility? I saw a Samsung DVD at £150 that has it.

    Any help woulf be a big help.

    CHeers
     
  2. Dutch

    Dutch
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Messages:
    2,590
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    North Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +278
    Hi,

    If you let us know what your TV is and whether it has an HDCP compatible DVI input, then folk would know whether to suggest a player that outputs an HDCP signal or not.

    Steve
     
  3. Hicksy

    Hicksy
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks Dutch. I have the new Samsung PS42V4S. Being an amateur, all i know is it has DVI-D connection on the back!

    Sorry to be vague but I didn't know there were variations!

    THx again.
     
  4. Dutch

    Dutch
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Messages:
    2,590
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    North Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +278
    Hi,

    No problem, it's just that if your plasma can't accept an HDCP encrypted signal which the Samsung DVI players output, then you wouldn't get a picture. I tried to find that model on Samsung's website, but it doesn't appear to be listed - the nearest I found was the PS42S4S, but they don't mention HDCP capability. Maybe you need to contact them to get confirmation one way or the other. Hope this helps.

    Steve
     
  5. SamirP

    SamirP
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2003
    Messages:
    1,232
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    South Of The River
    Ratings:
    +32

    You can disable the HDCP on the Samsung 935 for use with non-HDCP displays
     
  6. Hicksy

    Hicksy
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    much appreciated Steve.
     
  7. Hicksy

    Hicksy
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    SamirP, is it a good machine?
     
  8. Dutch

    Dutch
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Messages:
    2,590
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    North Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +278
    Thanks, I didn't know that - do you think it will be possible to do that on the 945?

    Hicksy,

    The 935 has been replaced by the new 945, which includes SACD and DVD-Audio capability.

    Steve
     
  9. Hicksy

    Hicksy
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Worth knowing Steve. It looks quite nice actually and at a good price.

    I am not sure if you can help me on this but my plasma has excellent blacks and bright colours but is slightly grainy on other colours. would a prog scan player help with that?

    I currently have a cambridge audio without prog scan.

    Thanks again.
     
  10. esrg

    esrg
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm thinking of this player too (945). I've got a Hitachi 42PD5200 plasma and I don't think it accepts HDCP signals. (finding it difficult to determine.) So I'm interested that it outputs with HDCP turned off. Can you still get 720p & 1080i through DVI with HDCP turned off?
     
  11. phlix

    phlix
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2004
    Messages:
    66
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    The 935 (which 945 replaces) can have HDCP disabled. I'm hoping the 945 is the same.
     
  12. Seanmac

    Seanmac
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2004
    Messages:
    130
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Aylesbury
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi

    Do you know of any other players where you can disable HDCP , as i am looking at the new Denon 3910 DVI equipped player?
     
  13. Barend

    Barend
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2004
    Messages:
    804
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +9
    Pretty sure Denon has no option to disable HDCP, it seems only not-so-established manufacturers dare to implement the feature, which leads to low end players having out and more expensive ones don't! :thumbsdow
    Barend
     
  14. esrg

    esrg
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    What I'm interested to know is whether or not you lose the hidef output if you disable HDCP i.e. can only get 560p with HDCP switched off.
     
  15. pez

    pez
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2004
    Messages:
    776
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Newport
    Ratings:
    +27
    does it really matter if you cant get hidef out of a DVD player when DVDs arent in 1080i or 720p?

    roll on Bluray!

    pez
     
  16. esrg

    esrg
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well, this is something I am not very wise with. Why are the manufacturers selling these players as 720p/1080i. I am assuming that there must be some kind of upscaling? Is this the type of upscaling that my TV does therefore no improvement, or the type upscaling that a scaler like an iscan does? Therefore big improvement (apparrently).
     
  17. SamirP

    SamirP
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2003
    Messages:
    1,232
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    South Of The River
    Ratings:
    +32
    hickey from I read it's Ok, but all the reports i read regarding dvi dvd players pointed to the Yamakawa 365 being the best of the cheaper upscaling players.
     
  18. SamirP

    SamirP
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2003
    Messages:
    1,232
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    South Of The River
    Ratings:
    +32
    Yes :)
     
  19. nwgarratt

    nwgarratt
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2002
    Messages:
    26,395
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,858
    The upcoming Panasonic DVDS97 will have HDMI and is DVI backwards compatible.
     
  20. Mr. Wilby

    Mr. Wilby
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2002
    Messages:
    636
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +16
    What do you mean by "backwards compatible?" As in, the HDCP can be disabled?

    Assuming this is the case, does it still upscale when its disabled? Probably too early to tell but would be nice to know.
     
  21. SamirP

    SamirP
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2003
    Messages:
    1,232
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    South Of The River
    Ratings:
    +32
     
  22. Barend

    Barend
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2004
    Messages:
    804
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +9
     
  23. esrg

    esrg
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I see you have one of these then (365), is the upscaling considerably better than that of your screen?

    How would it compare to a component 560p?
     
  24. SamirP

    SamirP
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2003
    Messages:
    1,232
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    South Of The River
    Ratings:
    +32
    Hi Esrg
    My screen doesn't upscale ;)
    But yes i find that sending my pj a 720p gives a much better pq brighter, better defined and appears much cleaner than when I was using component connections.
    One good thing about the 365 is it's ability to output a 720p @ 50hz, for pal disks
     
  25. esrg

    esrg
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Where can I get one of these? I can't find anyone selling these players in the UK?
     
  26. Benrudd1

    Benrudd1
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2003
    Messages:
    942
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Pembroke Dock
    Ratings:
    +66
    Take a look in the classified section of this forum.

    I'm selling one in there :thumbsup: and I believe there is another up for sale
     
  27. peacemaker

    peacemaker
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Can you tell me how to do that or point me to right thread. I'm new to this thread. Thanks ahead. :smashin:
     
  28. peacemaker

    peacemaker
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I found it allready. :cool:
     
  29. Xstyle

    Xstyle
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2004
    Messages:
    3,445
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Berkshire
    Ratings:
    +143
    I'd be interested in the answer to this question too...
    can you mix and match HDMi with DVi ?
     
  30. Xstyle

    Xstyle
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2004
    Messages:
    3,445
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Berkshire
    Ratings:
    +143
    here it is:
    PANASONIC DVD-S97EBS £290
    http://www.panasonic.co.uk/dvd-players/dvds97ebs/index.htm

    I'm not sure whether its a good buy... retailers have told me its a good dvd player, but not in the same class as the Pioneer 868, or the Arcam & Denon machines.... "you get what you pay for"
    ...esp if you are hooking it up to a plasma screen.
     

Share This Page

Loading...