1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

DVD player with best picture

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by sticker, Feb 14, 2003.

  1. sticker

    sticker
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2003
    Messages:
    1,152
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Ratings:
    +0
    I want to buy a DVD player that has the best Picture quality and Movie sound.

    I intend to run this into a Pio 503MXE via a IScan ultra.

    Question what player will give me the best possible picture, Ive shortlisted the players below

    Denon 3800
    Arcam DV88+
    Arcam FMJ DV27
    Pioneer 757Ai
    Pioneer 656
    Toshiba 520
    Toshiba 220
    Harman Kardon DVD25

    Anyone running the same equipment and got any ideas or other players that could fulfill?

    Regards
    Joh
     
  2. nathan_silly

    nathan_silly
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    You will also want best read relibility, and there are three players in that list I would not touch with a barge pole.

    Do a search on these forums.

    Personally I would go with the Pioneer 757ai.
     
  3. sticker

    sticker
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2003
    Messages:
    1,152
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Ratings:
    +0
    Take it you mean the 2 Arcam's and the Denon?

    If so , yep I've seen the problems and that's really one of the reasons why I'm asking the question, all that money and problems you would expect with a £80 Asda player. Hence the inclusion of th 220 Tosh ;)

    Cheers
     
  4. vonhosen

    vonhosen
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Messages:
    1,835
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +13
    Definitely dem the setup you intend as the iscan in my experience will create lip sync problems that you will need an audio delay solution for.
     
  5. ReTrO

    ReTrO
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2000
    Messages:
    3,498
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    High Wycombe, Bucks, UK
    Ratings:
    +59
    The best picture would be given by the Arcam DV27, and the best sound. It would not need feeding through an Iscan either. Neither would the DV88+ or the 3800. Not sure about the rest.
     
  6. sticker

    sticker
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2003
    Messages:
    1,152
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks guys for you thoughts.

    One of the reason I have the iscan is for other inputs, so thats why the Tosh 220 is in there to make use of the investment

    IS the FMJ DV27 better than the Tosh fed thorugh a IScan (I accept that the 2 Arcams and the Denon don't need that)?

    :)
     
  7. nathan_silly

    nathan_silly
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Out of my own research, a standard (good) component DVD player to the iscan, then onto a progressive-compatible display is better than a DVD player with built-in progressive scanning board.

    Am I wrong in this?
     
  8. Jeff

    Jeff
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    5,489
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Basingstoke
    Ratings:
    +256
    It depends on the progessive player, however all things being equal it would be better for the deinterlacing to be done before any D/A A/D conversion occurs.
     
  9. sticker

    sticker
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2003
    Messages:
    1,152
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Ratings:
    +0
    Jeff,
    Do you mean inside the Player?

    Regards
    John
     
  10. ReTrO

    ReTrO
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2000
    Messages:
    3,498
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    High Wycombe, Bucks, UK
    Ratings:
    +59
    The majority of decent DVD players that have built-in pro-scan will give a better picture when outputting this than outputting interlaced video into an external de-interlacer. This is because there is a direct digital connection to the internal de-interlacer and going the external de-interlacer route introduces 2 extra D-A and 1 A-D video conversions. This usually gives a softer picture, though it can be better if the de-interlacing chipset in the external one is better than the internal.

    ED: Me being slow posting a reply. Jeff said it in short.
     
  11. magking

    magking
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2001
    Messages:
    378
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Norway
    Ratings:
    +1
    I can answer that for him: Yes.
     
  12. magking

    magking
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2001
    Messages:
    378
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Norway
    Ratings:
    +1
    I thought I was fast for a moment, but i wasn't fast enough.:(
     
  13. nathan_silly

    nathan_silly
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    So if a good DVD player has a excellent deinterlacer (ie Iscan Ultra) built-in, and isloated from the rest of the player- ie seperate power supply windings- then it will beat a off-board unit?


    Will firewire/DVI output from a DVD player into a Iscan (with firewire/DVI) be better, as this will be a pure digital video link therefore no loss (ie CD transport to a DAC)

    Nathan
     
  14. ReTrO

    ReTrO
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2000
    Messages:
    3,498
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    High Wycombe, Bucks, UK
    Ratings:
    +59
    1) Yes

    2) Should be identical realy, SDI is the most common digital connection.
     
  15. sticker

    sticker
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2003
    Messages:
    1,152
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Ratings:
    +0
    So If I ran the Arcam FMJ DV27 straight into the plasma, it would I would get a better picture than say the Tosh 220 via the Iscan because no conversion for D to A and back again?

    If that's the case, what would the firewire output of the Pioner 757Ai do if it were possible to output the picture in the future via this type of link?

    Sorry to be thick but I want to make sure

    :blush:
     
  16. Jeff

    Jeff
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    5,489
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Basingstoke
    Ratings:
    +256
    I think that firewire link is just for audio.
     
  17. sticker

    sticker
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2003
    Messages:
    1,152
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Ratings:
    +0
    That's a shame then, as audio is only half the story. Why didn't they make it Video as well or isn't there the bandwidth?

    John
     
  18. ReTrO

    ReTrO
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2000
    Messages:
    3,498
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    High Wycombe, Bucks, UK
    Ratings:
    +59
    Yes, much better. And much better sound also.
     
  19. nathan_silly

    nathan_silly
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0

    OK, but Arcam might be a reasonable sounding for CD, but I would never need high quality DAC's on the DVD player (unless I went down the DVD-Audio route)

    I would prefer a DVD player Transport, with no DAC. I would send PCM to my DAC, and DPL/DD/DTS to my processor.

    Or if I did buy a DVD player with DAC, I would want one with bog-standard cheap DAC (just route sound to the TV for doco's etc)

    Until DVD-Audio can be sent to a processor, I won't be interested. And the same for digital video, to go direct into a off-board prog. scan unit (that way can put VCR into the prog unit as well)
     
  20. ReTrO

    ReTrO
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2000
    Messages:
    3,498
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    High Wycombe, Bucks, UK
    Ratings:
    +59
    You'll struggle to find a better DVD/CD mech/transport for less money. The DV88+ is the same, but comes with a different case, which makes a difference.

    The only digital only DVD player I know of is the Proceed PMDT, this has no analogue audio side, and you can add an SDI output to it. That'll cost you the best part of £7k though.:D
     
  21. nathan_silly

    nathan_silly
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    And the Tag Mclaren DVD32R. £4500, plus progressive module at about £1000.

    Out of my price range!
     
  22. Jeff

    Jeff
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    5,489
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Basingstoke
    Ratings:
    +256
    HTPC, H3D card and a Panasonic SDI player for around £2K
     
  23. Charlie Whitehouse

    Charlie Whitehouse
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    The Theta Carmen II and David II also have no analogue audio side to them. They are pure DVD transports. Both can be ordered with factory fitted SDI outputs, and the Carmen will also eventually be available with DVI output too. Don't know Carmen II pricing, but a David II with SDI will set you back about £7.5k. :smashin:
     
  24. Audionyx

    Audionyx
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2002
    Messages:
    667
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    East Yorkie Porky
    Ratings:
    +20
    Joh,

    Just to add my two-pence - having had a run of faulty 3800's (chosen as I felt it had a fantastic picture both to TV and component) I upgraded to FMJDV27. IMO this has a superior picture to the 3800 without it's idiosyncrasies. Denon had been very comunicative with me re the problems but the solution(s) only now trickling through.

    The DV88+ is also very good (uses the same Zoran Vaddis 5 as the FMJ without Sil503 post processing). A friend recently purchased this and runs it into a 50" Pioneer plasma - WOW!

    I bought a tosh 220 for my future in-laws and they are delighted (tv only).

    Technology moves too quickly to wait for the next-best-thing (digital connections to digital monitor etc)!!

    Regards

    Darren
     
  25. sticker

    sticker
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2003
    Messages:
    1,152
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks everyone for their thoughts on this, sorry for getting back so late, had to do my husbandly duties last night!!

    Think I'll give the FMJ a whirl and compare that to the Tosh 220/520 through a Iscan.

    Cheers :)
     
  26. Nic Rhodes

    Nic Rhodes
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2001
    Messages:
    17,133
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Cumbria
    Ratings:
    +1,277
    Think of the Arcam DVD88+ as a gret DD/ DTS transport, in fact I think I prefer it to the last 27 I saw but that has changed again aswell.
     
  27. StooMonster

    StooMonster
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Messages:
    4,970
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +314
    When demoing a DV27, make sure it is a "plus" version, the picture is even better than before.

    History of Arcam FMJ DV27 Plus http://www.aslgroup.com/arcam/arcamdvd.htm

    I own both a DV27+ and an iScan Ultra, and IMHO the DV27 straight into my Panny5 50" plasma produces a superior to any player I have tested running through iScan Ultra (that I use for prog-scanning Sky, consoles, etc.)

    Quite a lot of discussion of demoing Denon 3800 vs Arcam DV27 in this thread http://www.avforums.com/forums/showthread.php?s=&threadid=55440&highlight=dv27+3800

    StooMonster
     
  28. sticker

    sticker
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2003
    Messages:
    1,152
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Ratings:
    +0
    thanks Stoo
     

Share This Page

Loading...