DVD player to upscale via component?

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by reklor, Jul 25, 2005.

  1. reklor

    reklor
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2004
    Messages:
    5,038
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Huntingdon
    Ratings:
    +193
    Hi everyone. Im not sure if this has been covered before but im after a DVD player that can upscale 720p/1080i via component video. My budget is <£200........has anyone got any suggestions on which player to go for?

    Thank you :)
     
  2. MarkE19

    MarkE19
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Messages:
    17,132
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Rainham Essex
    Ratings:
    +2,393
    Take a look at the Samsung HD-950 or HD-850 (or the older 745/845) DVD players as they will upconvert via component once the multiregion hack has been entered via the remote.

    Mark.
     
  3. reklor

    reklor
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2004
    Messages:
    5,038
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Huntingdon
    Ratings:
    +193
    Ok cheers mark. Have I got any other options or is the samsung the only one?
     
  4. PJTX100

    PJTX100
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2004
    Messages:
    8,132
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +563
    Why do you want to upscale component?...PJ :)
     
  5. Drew2

    Drew2
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2005
    Messages:
    699
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Tsukuba, Japan
    Ratings:
    +32
    You could also consider the Momitsu V880 it upscales via DVI as well as component.Multi-region via menu option and PAL-NTSC-PAL conversion.
    Should be able to find it for about 180quid.

    Full spec: www.momitsu.com

    Have just picked up one 2nd hand for 27quid with no remote - will be posting images in the members home cinema setup forum when RC arrives.
     

Share This Page

Loading...