1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

dvd player to play AVI

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by dan76n, Jan 11, 2004.

  1. dan76n

    dan76n
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2003
    Messages:
    88
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    australia
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi all, I have heard that you can now get dvd players that play AVI files back, is this true? and if so which ones are they and is the quality any good ?
     
  2. Dutch

    Dutch
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Messages:
    2,584
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    North Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +271
    Hi,

    My Momitsu will play back avi files, but for some that were made with earlier versions of Divx, there is no sound. Maybe future firmware upgrades will fix this problem. Quality varies with the quality of the original encoding done.

    Steve
     
  3. dej23

    dej23
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2003
    Messages:
    2,795
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Ratings:
    +86
  4. dan76n

    dan76n
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2003
    Messages:
    88
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    australia
    Ratings:
    +0
    when a dvd player says it plays DIVX does that mean it plays AVI files.
     
  5. windfall

    windfall
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2003
    Messages:
    2,329
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    LFC Kop End
    Ratings:
    +58
    Hello

    Divx is a codec, when the raw film is created it is compresses using a codec (code and decode). AVI files are compressed with Divx and Xvid codecs so to replay these files your hardware must have the decoder (codec) installed.

    Hope this helps

    Tony
     

Share This Page

Loading...