1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

DVD player overscanning (by logical induction)

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by Slimchandi, Jun 6, 2005.

  1. Slimchandi

    Slimchandi
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2004
    Messages:
    467
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    I have been having problems for a while with my Yamada 6600 cropping parts of the picture via SCART off willy nilly, sometimes 10-12% of the left hand side. As you can appreciate, this absolutely ruins some shot composition in certain films and is really starting to annoy me. But I wasn't sure if it was the DVD player or the telly causing the overscan. So I think I figured it out last night. Bear with me.

    I zoomed the picture in to 2x and then moved as far left as I could. Got the same amount of the picture missing.

    Zoomed in to 3x, still got the same amount of the picture missing.

    Zoomed to 4x, STILL the same amount of picture missing.

    If the overscan was caused by my telly, surely I should see a little bit more of the left hand side each time I zoom in a little further? But because I don't the DVD player is cropping that much off the entire image all the time?

    Anyone with me still? I am considering a replacement player (probably Pio 575 or 470), do they have large amounts of overscan via SCART?
     
  2. cyberheater

    cyberheater
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2003
    Messages:
    3,186
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +170
    I'm betting it's your TV.
     
  3. Slimchandi

    Slimchandi
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2004
    Messages:
    467
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    Ah yes, it is upon closer inspection.

    Boy, is my face red.

    Mods, close please!
     
  4. cyberheater

    cyberheater
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2003
    Messages:
    3,186
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +170
    No problem. Mine was exactly the same.

    If your confident. You might want to see if you can get the service menu code for you TV and shift your tv image yourself.
     
  5. Slimchandi

    Slimchandi
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2004
    Messages:
    467
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    I've had a look but there doesn't seem to be one freely available. Its not an expensive model really, just bothering me. Time to start scouring the classifieds I guess.
     
  6. gingerone

    gingerone
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2002
    Messages:
    2,307
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +237
    Most TV's overscan to some degree even plasmas do it, it annoys the crap out of me. I don't see why they can't sort before they are shipped.
     
  7. Slimchandi

    Slimchandi
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2004
    Messages:
    467
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    How can a plasma overscan? I thought it was down to the magnetic fields in a CRT not being calibrated?
     

Share This Page

Loading...