dvd player connected to home cinema

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by BIGMAX, Mar 17, 2005.

  1. BIGMAX

    BIGMAX
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2005
    Messages:
    747
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +18
    Whilst I decide on a new amp and speakers, I need to run my hdmi dvd player through my home cinema system so I can get the hdmi picture on tv and get dolby digital/dts out of the home cinema. I have connected the two with an optical cable but the display on the home cinema says pro logic and I can't seem to get the dd sound out.

    Any suggestions ?
     
  2. Mep

    Mep
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2004
    Messages:
    9,712
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Surrey
    Ratings:
    +484
    is the audio out set to pmc?
     
  3. BIGMAX

    BIGMAX
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2005
    Messages:
    747
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +18
    Yes and pmc is coming up in the corner of the HC display.
     
  4. Mep

    Mep
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2004
    Messages:
    9,712
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Surrey
    Ratings:
    +484
    pmc is only prologic...should be set to 5.1 or it may just say original, or digital
     
  5. BIGMAX

    BIGMAX
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2005
    Messages:
    747
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +18
    Hi Mep,

    Sorry to be a thicko but I trust you can change that setting on the dvd player which has the disc or is there a setting on the Home cinema to do also.
     
  6. Mep

    Mep
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2004
    Messages:
    9,712
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Surrey
    Ratings:
    +484
    it's normally in audio set up in the dvd menus, the home cinema 'should' automatically detect the signal type being sent to it.
     
  7. BIGMAX

    BIGMAX
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2005
    Messages:
    747
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +18
    Cheers mate, I'll try that later.

    Thanks for your time.
     
  8. Mep

    Mep
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2004
    Messages:
    9,712
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Surrey
    Ratings:
    +484
    no worries, hope it gets it sorted (which dvd player is it btw?)
     
  9. BIGMAX

    BIGMAX
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2005
    Messages:
    747
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +18
    Hi Mep,

    Sorted that out last night thanks to you. The dvd player is the samsung hd945 which is cheap and cheerful but I played around with the settings on the tv last night and the picture I got was fantastic.

    Cheers again.
     
  10. Mep

    Mep
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2004
    Messages:
    9,712
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Surrey
    Ratings:
    +484
    good stuff mate...just saw you had it sorted in the plasma forum
     

Share This Page

Loading...