1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

DVD Playback stopped working in MCE....Help!

Discussion in 'Microsoft Windows' started by PannyAdams, Apr 16, 2005.

  1. PannyAdams

    PannyAdams
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    661
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Epsom
    Ratings:
    +5
    For no reason, my MCE seems to have just started to refuse to playback DVDs. I just get a black screen - but the transit bar comes up and indicates there's nothing to play, The same happens with DVDs ripped to the Hard drive through My Movies, but DivX play fine.....Arrrrggghhh! Help anyone?
     
  2. DaveP

    DaveP
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Sounds like a Codec problem to me. Have you run DECCHECK.EXE to see if you are running the correct one?

    Dave
     
  3. PannyAdams

    PannyAdams
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    661
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Epsom
    Ratings:
    +5
    I've run Deccheck.exe and the Codecs are all there.

    I managed to get one of the films playing this afternoon - so the Codecs are definitely there, when I then seleceted another film to play it just resumed the previous one again! It does the same if I'm playing audio and select a movie it just takes me to the now playting audio screen?

    It appears to be an MCE or windows Media Player problem - anyone had anything like it?

    I'd just got everything working -arrgghhh!
     
  4. lisag

    lisag
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2004
    Messages:
    5,557
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +296
    Oh dear, this sounds most odd, I haven't got a solution I'm afraid, just some sympathy!

    The things I might try include,
    Uninstalling and re-installing codecs,
    Check for updates on all drivers, software, codecs etc.,
    Uninstalling and re-installing any plug-ins (My Movies?)
    Windows Updates
    Virus / Spyware scan
    Looking for help on the green button, or xpmce,
    Clean install of MCE (argh)

    lisa
    :rolleyes:
     
  5. PannyAdams

    PannyAdams
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    661
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Epsom
    Ratings:
    +5
    Hi thanks for the post.....

    Reinstalling MyMovies seems to have fixed it - dodgy problem - happened after I added a load of movies to the Database. Now I've got to re-add all my movies, still quicker than a re-install.
     
  6. lisag

    lisag
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2004
    Messages:
    5,557
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +296
    Good news!
    You can manually back up the My Movies database, or if it was a fairly recent version the databse may still be in the My Movies install folder. There has been some new releases of My Movies recently, version 1.23 is the current one, this is a good link here
     

Share This Page

Loading...