1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

DVD Playback problem

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by phenom2003, Aug 20, 2003.

  1. phenom2003

    phenom2003
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    When I play a dvd the video and audio is choppy. The windows troubleshooter tells me to turn on dma under the IDE controller, however the device stays in PIO? mode, and doesn't switch to dma even though use dma where avaliable is selected. DVD playback used to work fine, can anybody offer any help or suggestions? Any help will be greatly appreciated.
     
  2. Gary Lightfoot

    Gary Lightfoot
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2001
    Messages:
    12,140
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Surrey. UK.
    Ratings:
    +1,953
    Installed any new hardware or software recently?

    Gary.
     
  3. phenom2003

    phenom2003
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Its been like this a while, so Im not sure whats been added since.
     
  4. HMHB

    HMHB
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2001
    Messages:
    25,444
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Nottinghamshire
    Ratings:
    +3,746
    what Operating System are you using ? What chipset is on the motherboard ? - as these problems quite often occur on VIA chipsets .
     
  5. owenw

    owenw
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2003
    Messages:
    269
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Ireland
    Ratings:
    +1
    Make sure the drive is set to DMA Mode 4 or 5 in the BIOS settings
     
  6. phenom2003

    phenom2003
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I cant change it to dma mode in the bios, and windows wont let me change it, as I have already selected use dma if avaliable and it remains in pio mode.

    The motherboard details as described by the belarc advisor are:

    Board: NEC COMPUTERS INTERNATIONAL SiS651 1.x
    Bus Clock: 133 megahertz
    BIOS: American Megatrends Inc. 2.0H 08/22/2002

    The manual that came with the system called the motherboard a columbia 2.

    The system is a packard bell imedia 5094.

    Its running Windows XP Home Edition (build 2600).

    Does this help at all?
     
  7. HMHB

    HMHB
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2001
    Messages:
    25,444
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Nottinghamshire
    Ratings:
    +3,746
    I would go to the Packard Bell website and look for the SIS IDE bus mastering patch - it would be advisable to try there first. If it is not there then I would look on the SIS website SIS for that driver. I think the file you are looking for is SiSide41.exe or something like that (there may be a later version now). This file should sort out bus mastering.
    Before you go ahead and install I would create a system restore point in XP and double check that this is the correct driver for your chipset - in other words don't blame me ;) :D
     

Share This Page

Loading...