DVD Playback on PS3

Discussion in 'Playstation Forums' started by sedalbis, Apr 17, 2007.

  1. sedalbis

    sedalbis
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2007
    Messages:
    2,601
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +352
    Whilst PS3 games look stunning on my new HD tv the DVD playback seems to be worst than on my old CRT Standard Def TV. Objects in the background seem to be a bit fuzzy and straight lines a bit jagedy.
    Is there anyway to fix this?
    Cheers :)
     
  2. TankTopLover

    TankTopLover
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2005
    Messages:
    4,162
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +190
    It is your tv that is doing the upscaling as the ps3 leaves the scaling to the set.So if your dvd playback is poor,then your tv has a poor upscaler.Get a new tv or a stand alone upscaling player(or wait for a possible firmware update that lets the ps3 upscale)
     
  3. sedalbis

    sedalbis
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2007
    Messages:
    2,601
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +352
    Well considering I only got the TV today, and it has amazing reviews on this very website, I don't think getting a new TV is an option. Anything else I could try?
    Btw my TV is as follows:

    http://www.mirai.eu/Uk/ProductDetails&product_id=46&cat_id=43

    Thanks :)
     
  4. hutch

    hutch
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    Messages:
    6,660
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Perth, Australia
    Ratings:
    +1,224
    Its your TV im afraid, the PS3 doesnt scale so its upto your TV to fit the DVD to your HD screen.
     
  5. Moogle

    Moogle
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2005
    Messages:
    13,751
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +1,398
    My LCD TV does just as good a job as my CRT so I doubt it's the PS3. most likely it's an issue with the TV. With all due respect that isn't exactly a very good brand HD TV.
     
  6. Tony Hoyle

    Tony Hoyle
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2005
    Messages:
    3,347
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Stockport
    Ratings:
    +231
    If you've come from a CRT then LCD will look worse when displaying SD... it's just the way it is.. CRT is better. It's going to be even more pronounced if your new TV is larger than your old one.

    A good TV can make up most of the difference though... apparently some of the panny plasmas look great in SD.
     
  7. sedalbis

    sedalbis
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2007
    Messages:
    2,601
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +352
    The name on the front of the TV makes no difference at all to how the TV performs. Games on my PS3 through this TV look just as good if not BETTER than on the Samsung and Sony TVs which cost about 400 or 500 pounds more. With all due respect, Mirai (the makers of my tv) supply the screens for big companies such as Sony.
     
  8. Tony Hoyle

    Tony Hoyle
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2005
    Messages:
    3,347
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Stockport
    Ratings:
    +231
    Actually Samsung supply the screens for Sony panels.

    It's the electronics that surround it that make the difference between eg. a Samsung and a Sony. No good having a good panel if the deinterlacer trashes the picture, for example.

    Mirai don't make panels they use CMO panels. Sounds like a salesman did a number on you.
     
  9. sedalbis

    sedalbis
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2007
    Messages:
    2,601
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +352
    Nope not a salesman, the website.
    Quote from Mirai website:
    "The MIRAI brand first entered the European market in December 2005. It is the newly formed global brand of Taiwan based Chi Mei Corporation, one of the world's largest suppliers of LCD technology, and is set to become a major force in the international supply of digital display products."

    The "world's largest suppliers" bit is the reason I thought that.
     
  10. Moogle

    Moogle
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2005
    Messages:
    13,751
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +1,398
    I disagree. There is a difference between brands. I have seen the quality of the Mirai TV's and they don't match that of better brands like Samsung, Sony, Toshiba etc. And as has already been mentioned they do not make the panels for Sony TV's or any other major brand. Also the elctronics are just as important if not more so then the panel. Even my TV which is a Samsung whilst being good is not as good as other brands such as Toshiba, Sony, Panasonic etc. However it does a great job none the less.
     
  11. Tony Hoyle

    Tony Hoyle
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2005
    Messages:
    3,347
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Stockport
    Ratings:
    +231
    It's true they are one of the worlds largest suppliers but they don't supply Sony TVs. They supply people like AOC so ship a lot of LCD panels for computers.
     
  12. sedalbis

    sedalbis
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2007
    Messages:
    2,601
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +352
    Ok fair enough. My bad. Sorry.
    Thanks for the help though :)
    Just a bit crap to hear that my TV isn't very good the day I get it. I am really pleased with it anyway, and can't afford anythin more expensive. For under £400 I think it's a bargain :) And the PS3 looks truely amazing through it.
    Cheers
     
  13. hutch

    hutch
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    Messages:
    6,660
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Perth, Australia
    Ratings:
    +1,224
    Good to hear that.

    Unfortuantely unless your chucking a lot of money at a screen SD viewing is the thing which suffers on HD panels but im sure that is offset by how good it looks with HD material :)
     
  14. TankTopLover

    TankTopLover
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2005
    Messages:
    4,162
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +190
    As long as the games look good then you are getting the best from the system anyway,so enjoy the games!
     
  15. dannius

    dannius
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Messages:
    3,412
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +354
    SD looks c**p on HDTV's, that's just the way it is. Some HDTV's do a better job of managing a SD signal though. I had a Panasonic LCD that looked plain rubbish with a SD signal from Sky or DVD, so took it back and got a Sony LCD and that does a much better job.

    My advice, sell your DVD's and buy Blu Ray's instead. Problem solved! :D
     
  16. Patbateman69

    Patbateman69
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2006
    Messages:
    925
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Liverpool
    Ratings:
    +171
    The Mirai may look good enough with HD source, but you are putting through a SD source which the TV has to upscale, hence the bad picture. Blu ray should look great and much better than dvd on your CRT
     
  17. breadbun

    breadbun
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2005
    Messages:
    1,466
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    North East UK
    Ratings:
    +47
    Maybe when/if the PS3 gets some kind of scaler, things may improve for you.
     
  18. Sqweeky Badger

    Sqweeky Badger
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2006
    Messages:
    528
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +33
    i have a philips dvd stand alone, from about 3 years back, connected to a philips crt 32'' this looks pretty good, but when connected to my lg panel it looks like crap...

    also 360 dvd playback is crap on it too,

    ps3 through hdmi dvd playback trumps them all, there are a few different settings that i had to play with to get it right, but now it looks very sharp. very impressed, and ive heard the lg is one of the worse for it

    want results get a panasonic, allthough iv just seen a ps3 on a pioneer 42" running sharks tale standard dvd, :D nice
     
  19. WibXL

    WibXL
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    Messages:
    3,145
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +379
    I've just found a way to get the PS3 to upscale DVD content up to the maximum resolution that your PS3 is capable of outputting which should solve your problems. Only thing is this is more of a work around than a solution and it wont actually let you upscale DVDs just the content on them.

    All you have to do is get the vob files from your DVD on to your PS3 which is very easy to do but I'm not sure how the forum rules stand on posting information on how to rip DVDs to a PC so you'll need to google for that bit.

    Once you have the Vob files on your PC rename the .Vob extension to .mpeg and then copy them across to your PS3 either using a large external storage device or over your network using Red Kawa Fileserver and then play them on your PS3 it's that simple. The film that would previously only play at 576i will now be upscaled up to 1080p and look a lot better for it:)
     
  20. Moogle

    Moogle
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2005
    Messages:
    13,751
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +1,398
    I seem to recall this was discussed in these forums when the 360 was launched. A lot of other people seem to say the same thing. It must be PAL 360's and DVD's. I have to say my US 360 plays region 1 NTSC DVD's just fine.
     
  21. Sqweeky Badger

    Sqweeky Badger
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2006
    Messages:
    528
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +33
    when i get my vobs the filname and file type are differant fields with the name being the only thing that can be changed, surly using video 9 it will upscail
     
  22. WibXL

    WibXL
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    Messages:
    3,145
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +379
    You need to rename the file on your PC before you transfer it. I gave up on the method in the end as I ran in to a load of problems and the good things didn't out way the bad for me.

    If you select the right profile in PS3 Video 9 then yes it will upscale.
     

Share This Page

Loading...