DVD on Network

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by Lumox, Nov 27, 2002.

1. Lumox

Lumox

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Is it possible to view a dvd on a small home network.
    Does anyone know how to configure it or is there software that
    makes it easy.

2. Desmo

Desmo
    Distinguished Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +6,407
    Viewing a DVD across a network doesn't cause any problems at all. I rip my DVD's to HD and can play one film on the HTPC and another across the network on my main machine both at the same time.

A 10/100 network has more than enough capacity to stream the film. Easiest thing to do is just share the DVD drive like you would a HD.

3. dts_boy

dts_boy

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +204
    im not an expert, but rpping dvds to hdd disk and then installing dvd software on the mcahines that want to view it should work. would be interested how to get 5.1 mix around the house, or is it just a case of pluggin into a 5.1 amp from the digital outs on the pcs?
    hopes this helps anyway!

4. Lumox

Lumox

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    I shared my dvd drive on one machine but how do I get the other machine with the dvd software on it to play the dvd.

5. Lumox

Lumox

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    I managed to get some playback on my other machine but it played very blocky and could not see the picture very well

6. halephil

halephil
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +1
    Hi Lumox,