Dismiss Notice
Attention AVForums app / Tapatalk users
Sadly GDPR means that, from 25th, we can no longer offer access to AVForums via the branded app or Tapatalk.
Click here for more information.

DVD / Media Player - Most satisfactory by experience

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by Antpink, Aug 14, 2005.

1. Antpink

Antpink

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +100
    I am new to this, and just sorting out the hardware side of the HTPC. Now I am wondering about how to playback the various media files, primarily DVD from HDD and disc, but also mp3 and wav for music. I do not think I will be using too many other media formats, except maybe DivX and Xvid, when I can work them out, and Avi and mpeg for downloaded stuff, and or copied/converted VCD material.

Seems the current faves for video types are Theatretek and Zoomplayer, but the former seemd restricted in palyback formats to only DVD. The latter looks good but seems to be a lot more configurable (and easier to screw up then).

What I really want to be able to do is to have PAL and NTSC movies optimised, so that when I select the player defaults to the best settings, without having to manually switch each time. Do either of these players do this? Also, should be able to download movie covers and info and store for each movie as well.

Also, for music files, would good old WMP 10 be good enough? Or do the various frontends, like Meedio, Media Portal etc come with a standalone media player which could handle this just fine.

Thanks in advance
    Antpink

2. KraGorn

KraGorn

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +27
    Simple answer to your PAL/NTSC switch .. by which I presume you mean 50hz/60hz .. is 'no', neither know how to do that. There are a few alternative methods involving other bits of software.

'Fraid I've no idea about downloading movie covers etc, not something I've felt the need to do.