dvd layer changes...

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by newbie265, May 7, 2004.

  1. newbie265

    newbie265
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2003
    Messages:
    493
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Rochester, Kent
    Ratings:
    +7
    are really frustrating me on my music dvds.In some cases they freeze for a good few seconds spoiling the song.Are there any dvd players out there that eradicate these changes enabing a smooth flow??
    I will be upgrading my simple system soon possibly getting a pioneer package with the i-link.
     
  2. figrin_dan

    figrin_dan
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Messages:
    2,059
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +169
    Pioneers aren't particularly fast at the change.
     
  3. mutley

    mutley
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2002
    Messages:
    450
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Portugal
    Ratings:
    +2
    but don't freeze for even 1 second
     
  4. LV426

    LV426
    Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    13,575
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Somewhere in South Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +6,095
    I believe the upmarket Denons have a data buffer which effectively removes the layer change pause.
     
  5. chris

    chris
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2000
    Messages:
    1,229
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    romney marsh, kent, uk
    Ratings:
    +29
    Denon 2200 or above.
    or htpc.

    i'm thinking of going for another 2900, as the layer change on my dv89 is really starting to **** me off.:mad:
     
  6. Promised Land

    Promised Land
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2004
    Messages:
    215
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    The Thin Line
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have had a Denon DVD2200 for the last four weeks and can confirm there is NO pause upon layer change at all.After watching DVD's for the last four years it actually seems weird(in a nice way!)not to see one part way through every film.If this is a big issue for you then the 2200(or 2900 if you want to spend that much)will eradicate said problem.Whether the cheaper Denon's have the memory buffer that cures this I'm not sure,but if you do a bit of searching it won't take much to find out.
     
  7. chris

    chris
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2000
    Messages:
    1,229
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    romney marsh, kent, uk
    Ratings:
    +29
    i think you will find that the dvd1400 or one of the lower ones, says it has a 2meg buffer, but that does not get rid of the layer change as a couple of people found out.

    The 2200 is a good player, but the 2900 is just better with CD playback.
    I have had both in the past and i could not see any difference between PQ between the 2200 and 2900.
    Plus the 2900 is quite a bit bigger and looks a lot better when sitting in your rack.( looks like it cost more than what it is IMO
    ).
     
  8. newbie265

    newbie265
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2003
    Messages:
    493
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Rochester, Kent
    Ratings:
    +7
    Do any of these denons play sacd?
     
  9. Promised Land

    Promised Land
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2004
    Messages:
    215
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    The Thin Line
    Ratings:
    +0
    The 2200 and 2900 will both play sacd's and dvd audio disc's,along with discs encoded with the jpeg and mp3 format's.So if you want a slideshow of your photo's on that big screen,or to listen to music for about ten hours without changing the disc,you can!But let me stress again;If you are that p:censored:d off with the pauses upon layer change,a 2200 or 2900 will not disappoint :smashin:


    Edited for punctuation.
     
  10. newbie265

    newbie265
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2003
    Messages:
    493
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Rochester, Kent
    Ratings:
    +7
    Thanks for that seems like the one for me what are the 2200 going for at the moment ,I can't find any.Pity it doesn't have the I-link system but then I'm not sure this isn't just for convienience only or is the quality better?I was thinking of ax5i or something similar.
     
  11. chris

    chris
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2000
    Messages:
    1,229
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    romney marsh, kent, uk
    Ratings:
    +29
    try here
    http://www.creative-audio.co.uk/Den2200.htm

    This is where i got mine from and they were quite quick with delivery.
    Not sure about i-link as i have never heard it......i'm happy enough with the analouge and digital connections for now.

    The ax5 seems to get good reviews, but i have never heard one, maybe you should have a look at the denon 3805 as well.
    I was thinking of getting a ax5 a little while ago but IMO pioneer gear is just so BUTT UGLY at the moment........i much prefered the styling of the older range.......626,737...etc and i think the denon gear looks nice, especially in gold, you could have a nice looking, matching 3805 with the 2200 sitting next to it, or the next shelf up......or you could have a good looking 2200 next to the butt ugly ax5.....the chice is yours....;)
     
  12. newbie265

    newbie265
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2003
    Messages:
    493
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Rochester, Kent
    Ratings:
    +7
    Is there a big jump up from 3803 to 3805?I was thinking with teh 3805 out now the 3803 would tumble in price?
     
  13. Promised Land

    Promised Land
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2004
    Messages:
    215
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    The Thin Line
    Ratings:
    +0
    One of the Forum Sponsors www.avland.co.uk is doing the 2200 for £479.95.I got mine from www.hifibitz.com for £529.99,reason being I haven't got the dosh right now and they do nine months deferred payment!Worth keeping in mind if funds are low,I just look at the price difference as an unofficial interest charge,it doesn't hurt so much then!
     
  14. atmoscinema

    atmoscinema
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2000
    Messages:
    2,117
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Leicester
    Ratings:
    +48
    Why does the 2200 have no layer change when it has the same 2MB buffer as the lower range one's?

    :confused:
     
  15. AML

    AML
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2004
    Messages:
    4,989
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Tokyo
    Ratings:
    +228
    Newr Denons have an 8mb buffer!!

    Surely this will do away with the layer change?!

    Anyway the newer models are the 2910 and 3910. Both excelent for video, but the 3910 is better for audio.
     
  16. atmoscinema

    atmoscinema
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2000
    Messages:
    2,117
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Leicester
    Ratings:
    +48
    So the 2910 is replacing the 2200?
     
  17. atmoscinema

    atmoscinema
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2000
    Messages:
    2,117
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Leicester
    Ratings:
    +48
    According to Denon USA, the 2200 spec has an 8MB buffer, which explains why people haven't noticed a layer change.

    :)
     
  18. Colonel Burton

    Colonel Burton
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Messages:
    678
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Ratings:
    +15
    Have you tried it with Spiderman (first one) the fight scene in the ally?
     
  19. atmoscinema

    atmoscinema
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2000
    Messages:
    2,117
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Leicester
    Ratings:
    +48
    All the Denon players from the 2200 and above to the top model have an 8MB buffer, as do the new one's being launched, so I'd say Spiderman should be ok, otherwise the top model would have a bigger buffer.

    Please confirm this Promised Land

    :smashin:
     
  20. Colonel Burton

    Colonel Burton
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Messages:
    678
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Ratings:
    +15
    Well i bought the 2200 yesterday (£300 for superfi sheffield) and tried it today and sorry to say that the layer change is not good it jumps pretty bad but that`s just my copy of the movie gonna try it with another copy soon
    oh and the 2200 only has a 2mb buffer
     
  21. atmoscinema

    atmoscinema
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2000
    Messages:
    2,117
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Leicester
    Ratings:
    +48
    The US site spec says 8MB, but the UK site doesn't say either.

    What other DVD's have you tried on the 2200?

    What buffer has the 2900 got?
     
  22. Colonel Burton

    Colonel Burton
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Messages:
    678
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Ratings:
    +15
    Not that many but i knew a lot of players had problems with this one in the past this is why i tried this one first, if you look Here near the bottom it tells you "Independent power supplies for audio and video processing stages, discrete audio and video circuits, all metal case and aluminium fascia, 2MB buffer memory - gives seamless layer transfer, 4:3 and 16:9 output options, on-screen display"
     
  23. Radiohead

    Radiohead
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2001
    Messages:
    4,405
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Amazingstoke
    Ratings:
    +440
    I've yet to see any layer change on my 2900.
     
  24. atmoscinema

    atmoscinema
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2000
    Messages:
    2,117
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Leicester
    Ratings:
    +48
    Even Spiderman and how big is it's buffer?
     
  25. Kobus

    Kobus
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Why would the 2900 have better audio/cd playback than the 2200?. Is it just the DAC or are there other factors as well.
     
  26. cerebros

    cerebros
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2002
    Messages:
    1,354
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Leicester
    Ratings:
    +41
    For what it's worth, AV Land's site says the 2910 has 2MB buffer while the 3910 has 8MB
     
  27. atmoscinema

    atmoscinema
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2000
    Messages:
    2,117
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Leicester
    Ratings:
    +48
    Well are the US spec one's different then or are AVLAND/Superfi wrong, as the 2200 > US one's have an 8MB buffer, plus Denon UK don't quote this spec in the higher spec one's?

    http://www.usa.denon.com/catalog/products.asp?l=1&c=4#PID761

    :confused: :confused: :confused:
     
  28. Colonel Burton

    Colonel Burton
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Messages:
    678
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Ratings:
    +15
    I`ll have a read of my manual in a bit and post back won`t be long
     
  29. pjclark1

    pjclark1
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2004
    Messages:
    4,463
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Thailand
    Ratings:
    +271
    yamada 5520 £30 from amazon
    DK Digital 915 £52 from ebuyer (does divx/xvid too)
    philips dvdr75 £169
    chipped xbox £130

    none of these pause at the layer change, what are you guys on, paying £100s
    of pounds just cos the player has an upmarket name on the front. I would have
    returned any player that paused on layer change even if it was £30. Pauses are
    unacceptable on modern dvd players.
     
  30. Kobus

    Kobus
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Excellent point. I was about to invest in a top of the range Pioneer 868. I can not believe that for that type of money I will get a player with such a "basic" problem. How come have they not sorted this out.

    Do the Pioneers not have a buffer.
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice