1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

DVD HD recorder with faroudja DCDI?

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by oliverlim, Apr 19, 2005.

  1. oliverlim

    oliverlim
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2004
    Messages:
    79
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +7
    Hi,

    Is the a current model of DVD HD Recorder with DCD-I available? I know the previous Philips 9x5 models had Faroudja...but their current models does not have it anymore....

    Thanks
    Oliver
     
  2. What Happend

    What Happend
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2005
    Messages:
    24
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    The Philips HDRW 720/17 has DCDI US version.
     
  3. oliverlim

    oliverlim
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2004
    Messages:
    79
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +7

    hmm.... What Happened to the DCD-I logo on the front panel? :)

    I checked the specs and it does not indicate that it has DCD-I in this model.

    Thanks
    Oliver
     
  4. musukebba

    musukebba
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2005
    Messages:
    689
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +16
    If you are trying to look at the specs of a US machine from outside that country, you may not get accurate information. Philips are adept at redirecting website access back to the country of origin.
     
  5. oliverlim

    oliverlim
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2004
    Messages:
    79
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +7
    I downloaded the manual for the US model and somewhere in the middle it says this machine is equiped with the DCD-I processor. But I wonder why did Philips downplay this and did not even include the logo on the front panel. That was the strange thing. But it seems like this model only supports PAL. So the DCD-I may not work with a PAL composite input. Sigh.....

    Still searching then....

    Oliver
     
  6. What Happend

    What Happend
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2005
    Messages:
    24
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Sorry I didn't follow this thread after posting. The US version has a logo on the front of the machine for DCD-I.

    Here is a link of a unit I found on the internet, look at the third logo.
    http://ebaypics.connect-comp.com/Philips/PhilipsHDRW720-17-02.JPG



     

Share This Page

Loading...