dvd hard disc to dvd hard disc

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by ondrewskeo, Feb 22, 2013.

  1. ondrewskeo

    ondrewskeo
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2013
    Messages:
    23
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    Hello, my samsung dvd recorder (SH875M)has stopped recording programmes from the hard drive to a blank disc. Ive got a new samsung dvd recorder (SH897M) and would like to transfer programmes from the old recorder hdd to the new one. what connection leads would i need to achieve this in the best possible quality
    thanks
     
  2. formbypc

    formbypc
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2010
    Messages:
    1,579
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Ratings:
    +105
    What inputs and outputs do they each have?
     
  3. ondrewskeo

    ondrewskeo
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2013
    Messages:
    23
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    both pretty much the same
    2 scarts (av1, av2)
    HDMI out
    Component out (PR, PB , Y)
    AV out ( red white yellow)
    Digital audio out- optical
    RF In ,RF out
     
  4. ondrewskeo

    ondrewskeo
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2013
    Messages:
    23
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    Sorry also on front of both
    AV input 1
    DV input
    USB Host
     
  5. Gavtech

    Gavtech
    Administrator

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2005
    Messages:
    21,132
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +7,049
    A scart connection is your only option... but you need to ensure that you connect via RGB to obtain the best quality.

    The '897 has RGB input capability

    Connect a scart ( must be a fully wired type to obtain RGB) between AV1 of the '875 to AV2 of the '897.

    Ensure that RGB is selected in the 897's AV2 input settings.
     
  6. ondrewskeo

    ondrewskeo
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2013
    Messages:
    23
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    Hello, finally got around to trying this.Connected as above but whn i press record on the '897 it comes up record on the display for about 1/10th of a second and then stops. Anyone help please? Gavtect?
    thanks
     
  7. Broadz

    Broadz
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2006
    Messages:
    8,697
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +1,423
    Have you already pressed play on the source machine before pressing record on the target? Some machines cancel recording if they don't detect an incoming signal. So, if the source DVD recorder is not already playing something - or not feeding a signal out via scart from its own internal tuner - then the target DVDR picks up the lack of signal and immediately cancels the recording.

    Either ensure the source machine is playing back items from its hard drive before pressing record on the target - or connect the source machine to the TV aerial so that it is receiving - and more importantly outputting via its scart output - a valid signal that the target machine can detect.
     
  8. ondrewskeo

    ondrewskeo
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2013
    Messages:
    23
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    Yes the source machine is playing fine with a good picture when i press the record button however i have no tv ariel connected to the source machine, Is this neccessary?
     
  9. Broadz

    Broadz
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2006
    Messages:
    8,697
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +1,423
    Only if you wanted to ensure that the target machine was receiving a good signal before you started recording. As you've already proved that this is the case - because you can see the signal being sent to it from the hard drive recordings on the source machine - this isn't the issue.
     
    Last edited: Mar 22, 2013

Share This Page

Loading...