1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

DVD glitches!!! :(

Discussion in 'Movie Forum' started by twist3r, Sep 18, 2003.

  1. twist3r

    twist3r
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hello

    Im fairly new to DVD and im not exactly impressed so far! I have recently bought a few DVD's, namely xXx and Die Another Day. Both of these have points in them where the picture freezes and I loose audio for a few secs before carrying on. This always happens in the same point of the film and it happens if I play them on my DVD player, My PC or my Dad's PC.

    Because it happens on multiple players then I have come to the conclusion that the disc's have faults with them. I also recall this happening on other DVD's I have. Yet other's are fine.

    Is this a case of faulty discs? The player I have is only a cheap one, would this not happen with a better quality player?

    The whole point of DVD is to have a completley faultless film isn't it?

    This isn't a common thing is it? I hope not!
     
  2. Daneel

    Daneel
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Messages:
    2,822
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +26
    I'm not sure. I've noticed a few glitches recently, although they aren't repeatable. When I watched FOTR EE R1 a few weeks ago it glitched 3 or 4 times, picture froze and sound dropped, for about 0.5 seconds then carried on.

    I watched some of Gladiator last night and it did the same thing. Only thing they had in common is that I was using DTS audio. I haven't noticed problems with any other DVDs that weren't obviously scratched.
     
  3. ted26

    ted26
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2003
    Messages:
    511
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +6
    Does this happen just once about half way through the movie?
     
  4. twist3r

    twist3r
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Your right it does! Only once and always at the same point in the movie, approx half way through, give or take 10 mins or so. I know on xXx its right after the avalanche.

    Do you know why it happens? :)
     
  5. Ghidorah

    Ghidorah
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2002
    Messages:
    134
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Bristol
    Ratings:
    +0
    Errr,

    Its not when the dvd changes from one layer to another is it ?

    Ghidorah
     
  6. paul1672

    paul1672
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2003
    Messages:
    2,558
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    norfolk
    Ratings:
    +37
    it's a common thing due to the disc being duel layered.
    i'm sure others will confirm this but imo the discs aren't faulty.
    it's perfectly normal and the pause varies in length depending on dvd player.
    not all discs are dual layered which is why you haven't always experienced this.
    hope this helps.
    and this is only my opinion.
     
  7. twist3r

    twist3r
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ah right that explains alot! :)

    Actually, it always happens right at the end of a scene, or right at the start of another scene so at least they put them in at decent points and not right in the middle of scene's !

    Thanks for the info :)
     
  8. Ghidorah

    Ghidorah
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2002
    Messages:
    134
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Bristol
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi There,

    If you buy some of the early dvds they just put the change over any where. It was awful. Right in the middle of someone speaking it would just stop AHHHHHHHHHHHH


    Glad that seems to be that:clap:

    Ghidorah
     
  9. nathan_silly

    nathan_silly
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Where Eagles Dare was a bad layer change- half way through a sentance.

    Although it layer changes don't bother me (takes about 1/4 to 1/2 second to change) I can't understand why they didn't have the change at a end of a scene.
     
  10. Lex

    Lex
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    Messages:
    4,089
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    61
    Location:
    Cornwall
    Ratings:
    +4
    I concur! :smashin: This is definitely a layer change point... they are a necessary evil I suppose, and dvd producers do try and put them in the most unobtrusive place.

    Also, some dvd players handle them better than others I have noticed... :rolleyes:
     
  11. Ghidorah

    Ghidorah
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2002
    Messages:
    134
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Bristol
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes
    My old Sony 725 was not that good at the change, but with my Harmon kardon DVD25 you hardly notice at all

    Plus I think the discs are better now

    Ghidorah
     
  12. DpM

    DpM
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2003
    Messages:
    4,295
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    High Wycombe, UK
    Ratings:
    +833
    Funny that you should say your dvd 25 is quicker than the Sony Ghidorah, I found that my old samsung 709 is quicker than my dvd 25. But most importantley the quality is much better.:rotfl:
     
  13. NoelStar

    NoelStar
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    it sounds like the layer change to me

    can you believe it most cheap players you dont notice it but

    or for example buy sony or pioneer and you will notice nearly a 2 second freeze during layer change

    i spoke to sony and they said they all do it

    it ****** me off at first but im trying to get use to it and on my pioneer its a pretty quick layer change

    but ive got a few cheap players that you wont even notice it during a film:eek:
     
  14. apul

    apul
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2003
    Messages:
    689
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Durham
    Ratings:
    +19
    always notice it on my tosh 210 but have never noticed on my PC, and ive watched most of my dvds on a PC:cool:
     

Share This Page

Loading...