1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

dvd genie basic question

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by (GTV)Chris, Nov 10, 2002.

  1. (GTV)Chris

    (GTV)Chris
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2002
    Messages:
    695
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +2
    Hi,
    I have a Pioneer DVD player in my HCPC.
    I also he the latestr Theater Tek.
    When I swap to a region 2 disc it says it's unsuported?
    I have fiddled with DVD Genie.
    Can someone please tell me in simple terms how I configure DVD GEnie to crack the DVD player.
    Much appreciated

    Chris
     
  2. (GTV)Chris

    (GTV)Chris
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2002
    Messages:
    695
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +2
    OK just done a firmware hack...which seems to have worked.
    Although I still have to change regions...
    The most worrying thing is that my Win2K tells me I am only allowed to change the region 2 more times???
    What will this do, will it permanently lock my DVD drive?


    Ta

    Chris
     
  3. Dangerous

    Dangerous
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi Chris
    I just select which region I wish to play then select run. I'm not aware of any special tewaks necessary. I am using the pioneer player to.

    Dave
     
  4. Ken

    Ken
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2000
    Messages:
    360
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Stoke-on-Trent
    Ratings:
    +1
  5. Mr.D

    Mr.D
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    11,040
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +1,111
    My counter under W2K also counts down but it resets back to 4 when it hits 0. I'm using regionkiller and TT and it works great. Never have to fiddle just throw a disc in from whatever region and it plays.

    Liteon drive ( the popular one : firmware hacked myself)

    I agree try regionkiller .
     
  6. (GTV)Chris

    (GTV)Chris
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2002
    Messages:
    695
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +2
    Thanks for all your help.
    I am now using regionkiller and it works a treat :)


    Cheers

    Chris
     

Share This Page

Loading...