dvd genie basic question

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by (GTV)Chris, Nov 10, 2002.

  1. (GTV)Chris

    (GTV)Chris
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2002
    Messages:
    706
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +3
    Hi,
    I have a Pioneer DVD player in my HCPC.
    I also he the latestr Theater Tek.
    When I swap to a region 2 disc it says it's unsuported?
    I have fiddled with DVD Genie.
    Can someone please tell me in simple terms how I configure DVD GEnie to crack the DVD player.
    Much appreciated

    Chris
     
  2. (GTV)Chris

    (GTV)Chris
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2002
    Messages:
    706
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +3
    OK just done a firmware hack...which seems to have worked.
    Although I still have to change regions...
    The most worrying thing is that my Win2K tells me I am only allowed to change the region 2 more times???
    What will this do, will it permanently lock my DVD drive?


    Ta

    Chris
     
  3. Dangerous

    Dangerous
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi Chris
    I just select which region I wish to play then select run. I'm not aware of any special tewaks necessary. I am using the pioneer player to.

    Dave
     
  4. Ken

    Ken
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2000
    Messages:
    367
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Stoke-on-Trent
    Ratings:
    +12
  5. Mr.D

    Mr.D
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    11,167
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +1,210
    My counter under W2K also counts down but it resets back to 4 when it hits 0. I'm using regionkiller and TT and it works great. Never have to fiddle just throw a disc in from whatever region and it plays.

    Liteon drive ( the popular one : firmware hacked myself)

    I agree try regionkiller .
     
  6. (GTV)Chris

    (GTV)Chris
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2002
    Messages:
    706
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +3
    Thanks for all your help.
    I am now using regionkiller and it works a treat :)


    Cheers

    Chris
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice