DVD Database

D

DaveP

My collection is nearing 200 at a fast rate. I am now not sure whether or not I already own some DVDs!

I need to document them. I've tried DVD Profiler and, although it is wonderful for what it does, I need an "Always On" internet connection, which I haven't got.

Can anyone recommend something else for me? Ideally I need it to recognise titles as I write them, in the same way that DVD Progiler does.

This is not vital of course, I just need something that can sort on title really!

I suppose a spreadsheet would do but I'm no Excel expert!

Suggestions then please,

Thanks

DaveP

I used DVD Profiler for years before I got an 'always on' internet connection, is this a requirement of the new version 2.0 or something?

In the options for v2.0 there is an 'online' tab, which gives you the option to establish the internet connection or use dial-up networking. If you select dial-up networking I can't see why you'd need a broadband connection...

I am not sure what your requirements are but either a simple excel sheet or a access database would seem the answer.

Elaborate on your requirements

i use vers 2 of DVD Profiler and it does NOT require an always on connection, it's a fantastic and FREE piece of software. You won't do better.

I moved from a spreadhseet to DVDprofiler.

I can't see why you need a permanent connection. Yes it asks to when you add a title to refresh, but you can say no!

Thanks for th efeedback,

I must be doing something wrong!

I'll have another look tonight. From what I remember, when I started to add a DVD title it immediately brought up the dial up networking connection. I cancelled that and I wan't able to get any further. My other problem may be due to the fact I'm trying to run it on a 233Mhz laptop!

DaveP