DVD Database

Discussion in 'Movie Forum' started by Confucius, Apr 14, 2001.

  1. Confucius

    Confucius
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2001
    Messages:
    2,148
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Oxford
    Ratings:
    +132
    I don't know how many of you guys 'n gals have trouble keeping track of your shiny gold & silver discs, but I discovered DVD Profiler the other day. Seems to be very comprehensive easy to use( :D), and best of all free (though for how long, who knows?)... and no, I'm not on comission ;).

    Once downloaded (it took me a few goes) all you do to add a disc to your database is type in the 'Universal Product Code' situated under the barcode. It seems to work for R1 & R2 though some of the newer R2 releases aren't listed yet.

    My DVD's

    [ 14-04-2001: Message edited by: Confucius ]
     
  2. mysteriousjimmy

    mysteriousjimmy
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have been using it for a while now with alot of other R4 users here in Australia.

    If a title isn't there you can add it yourself then up load it to the database..
     
  3. PaulBoy

    PaulBoy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    1,735
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Surrey UK
    Ratings:
    +87
    Confucious (bet I got that wrong)
    I had heard of DVD Profiler B4 but after your post thought I'd check it out - Guess what U R right its pretty kool & should be useful 2 boot - So thanx for the heads up
    BTW I have yet to find a disc it doesnt recognise (even Billy Elliot which only just came out)
    Thanx again ... Paul
    "a satisfied customer - we should have him stuffed" B Fawlty Esq.
     
  4. Confucius

    Confucius
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2001
    Messages:
    2,148
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Oxford
    Ratings:
    +132
    The only two of my discs I found it didn't recognise were 'Hector's House' :eek: and 'Porterhouse Blue'. I've managed to load the info for P-B apart from the cover scan (maybe today), though 'I'm a Not in the database old Hector' will have to wait til tomorrow maybe.
     
  5. ptmbradley

    ptmbradley
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2000
    Messages:
    253
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Body in Wolves, heart in Cardiff!
    Ratings:
    +1
    I've been using it for several months now, and it is a superb piece of software.

    But they've recently released a newer version and I and several others have had trouble with it. They've released a repair utility which worked for me the first time, but now I can't even open the program as it says "Cannot access database" and auto-quits. :(

    Looks like another email to the company today...

    Hope I can sort it because like I said, it's a terrific little program.

    Ptm
     
  6. ptmbradley

    ptmbradley
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2000
    Messages:
    253
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Body in Wolves, heart in Cardiff!
    Ratings:
    +1
    Just run the repair utility again and it all seems to be working properly again.

    Hopefully this time it'll stay that way!

    Ptm
     
  7. graham_ew

    graham_ew
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have DVD profiler but how do you get it so that you can provide a link to your collection for others to view??? :confused:
     
  8. ptmbradley

    ptmbradley
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2000
    Messages:
    253
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Body in Wolves, heart in Cardiff!
    Ratings:
    +1
    Go to the Profiler website and log in from one of the My Profiler links.

    Then select "Change your My Collection options" and check the 'public' radio button.

    Ptm
     
  9. Vixpy

    Vixpy
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I can't find the repair utility, any chance of a link?

    Thanx
     
  10. ptmbradley

    ptmbradley
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2000
    Messages:
    253
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Body in Wolves, heart in Cardiff!
    Ratings:
    +1
    Of course. :)

    Here's the email they sent me:

    "We have made a new repair utility available online at http://www.dvdprofiler.com/dvdpro/downloads/dbrepairinstall.exe. Please download, install, and try this out. Make sure to close DVD Profiler before running the repair utility."

    [ 16-04-2001: Message edited by: ptmbradley ]
     
  11. Vixpy

    Vixpy
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanx
     
  12. General Skanky

    General Skanky
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2000
    Messages:
    4,247
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Ratings:
    +43
    Been using it for a while now too. Excellent toy. :D
    Using loads of ink printing reports :D.
     
  13. General Skanky

    General Skanky
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2000
    Messages:
    4,247
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Ratings:
    +43
    Oh and PTM, cheers for that repair, my version works a treat now. :)
     
  14. ptmbradley

    ptmbradley
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2000
    Messages:
    253
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Body in Wolves, heart in Cardiff!
    Ratings:
    +1
    I'm still having one or two minor niggles.

    The main one is that the actor database isn't working properly, and some of my discs show up as having nobody starring in them.

    It doesn't really worry me too much though. :)

    Ptm
     
  15. mysteriousjimmy

    mysteriousjimmy
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    that could because now one has entered the actors in for those movies, I have added a few R1 and R4 dvd's that have had no actors or even pictures.
     
  16. ptmbradley

    ptmbradley
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2000
    Messages:
    253
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Body in Wolves, heart in Cardiff!
    Ratings:
    +1
    No, they were there before. And sometimes the program gives me an error saying it can't access the actor database. :)

    Ptm
     
  17. Vixpy

    Vixpy
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I get exactly the sma error occasionally but running the reapir utility seems to sort it out, it comes back soon though. not too worried becuase its a classy piece of software. printed out my collection using one of the reports on thier web site, ran out of colour ink though on page 79! :)
     
  18. Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've just started using DVD Profiler and it is most cool!!!!

    Only have a couple of issues, I can't find a couple of DVD's on the database and have had no luck reading from drive.

    Is there a way possible to manually enter a disc into the database?

    Also, when I lend discs to friends is there anyway to filter for loaned out discs????

    Any tips.....? :rolleyes:
     
  19. StuartBooth

    StuartBooth
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm sure there is a way to input new discs, as that's how their database was built up I believe. Haven't had to so far myself though!

    To filter loaned out discs look in the Other filter tab at the top left. There are 4 options, Now, Not, Ever, and Never which should do it I think.

    I actually came across these just now when I was searching for a way of filter on discs with a dts soundtrack. Just for sheer curiosity's sake though.
     
  20. Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    If you attempt to 'Add Discs' by title and it's not in the DB, you can input it manually with as many (or few) details as you wish. I'm not sure when (if?) they appear on the 'master' db (if there is one), but I put in the details of 'Hector's House' and I think 'Porterhouse Blue' (including cover scans). The info was saved from my computer to the net, but I looked the next day and they weren't in the master.
     
  21. Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    It can take a week or more for entires to be added to the master database.

    If you are adding a disc that doesn't have a UPC make sure you enter it by disc ID (you have to put the disc in the DVD Drive) and try not to make up UPC as this can cause trouble when a dvd is released and it has the same UPC as the made up UPC.

    Also I have noticed that quite a lot of R2 discs are duplicaed in DVD Profiler because people are entering the incorrect form of the UPC. The US UPC tends to be 10 digits, The European UPC tends to be 12 digits (a lot of people are only entering 11 digits)
     
  22. Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Unfortunately I can only enter disc information manually as I've yet to get a DVD-ROM drive, though I'm careful to enter the correct (10 or 12 digit) code. I'm not at home right now, but I did notice - I think with Gogs - that the code was 11 digits. As I say I'll have a check on Wednesday but I'm 99.99% sure it was 11!

    [ 28-04-2001: Message edited by: Confucius on Holiday ]
     
  23. PaulBoy

    PaulBoy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    1,735
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Surrey UK
    Ratings:
    +87
    It appears we all agree DVD-Profiler is pretty damn good ...
    Now can someone really cheer me up and tell me there is a similar product for CD's ?
    TIA - Paul
     
  24. StuartBooth

    StuartBooth
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    CDs?! Oh, I hope not. I think how long it took me to pump in ~100 DVDs. I've got 600+ CDs !!! Ack!

    Actually, I've been 'trying' to write a CD database to suit my needs for years. Trying in that I've had 3 different version in years gone by, but haven't revisited that project in several years now. Never ever did finish it... <sigh>
     
  25. Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I know this sounds sad.....

    But has anyone thought of getting a barcode reader to input into the database???????
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice