1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

dvd catalogue!!

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD discs' started by esoxcrazy, Feb 4, 2005.

  1. esoxcrazy

    esoxcrazy
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Messages:
    136
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    Looking to catalogue my dvd’s are they any programs I can use?
     
  2. edinburgh160

    edinburgh160
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi,

    http://www.intervocative.com/Downloads.aspx

    This is DVD Profiler, and once downloaded it is really easy to use. Just go to ADD DvD, and enter in the barcode on the back of your boxes, it downloads the covers, cast, specs and everything else you can imagine.

    It's a fantastic program that alot of people use.

    Cheers :thumbsup:
     
  3. esoxcrazy

    esoxcrazy
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Messages:
    136
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    ok that's great thanks for a quick reply

    I’ll be cataloguing my dvd’s shortly.

    Thanks again :clap:
     
  4. Sick Note

    Sick Note
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2000
    Messages:
    451
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +26
    Just downloaded it. Thanks for the excellent tip.
    Very impressive little piece of software. Just wish there was a way to synchronize your collection with your mates so you all don´t end up buying the same DVD´s
     
  5. edinburgh160

    edinburgh160
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    there is a way my friend. Go to the online tab, then IVS website, then IVS main site.
    Once the web page goes up click on SIGN UP. Once done, you can go back to your downloaded DVD Profiler, go to online tab, then My Profiler, then click on UPLOAD LINKS.
    Voila you can then access your list from any computer by going to the website. Your friends can see your list if you give them your username and password (if you can trust them), or all look if you are at the one computer and all sign up.
    I do this in work, and its a great way of looking at friends lists etc. :beer:

    Also, on DVD Profiler in case you miss this (I did) you can download different skins etc and print out different style of reports, again downloading different skins. Some are really well done.
     
  6. Sick Note

    Sick Note
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2000
    Messages:
    451
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +26
    Hey edinburgh160 you are a genius.
    Just followed your instructions, set up my database online, 3 of my mates did the same and hey presto one big DVD collection. :clap:
    Thanks again
     
  7. Chrissywis

    Chrissywis
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2003
    Messages:
    93
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +0
    Is there anything similar for CDs ?
    Cheers,
    Chris.
     
  8. thirst

    thirst
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    how much does it cost?
     
  9. edinburgh160

    edinburgh160
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    sorry, I don't know of any cd programs, however there must be some out there. Maybe a forum can help you with that one.

    DVDProfiler is free , however there is a premium version which takes away some advertising and some other extras. I dont subscribe to it though. Maybe someone else out there does ????? Generally the free one is good enough for me.

    Cheers
     
  10. lovemunkey187

    lovemunkey187
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Messages:
    2,509
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Notts/Sth. Yorks border
    Ratings:
    +29
    I am another one extol the virtues of dvdprofiler.

    A word of advice though, don't ask on the intervocative forum about a cd version as it is a touchy subject, generally because every mother and their dog (including me :blush: ) asks about it and the mods are getting tired of the repeated question.

    And don't forget when you've got your collection inserted to put a link in your sig so that the rest of can have a mooch at it and see if you've got something we like the look of and wouldn't mind getting a copy of. I've done this a couple of times and found some really choice sets that I've ended up buying.
     
  11. edinburgh160

    edinburgh160
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    HI Lovemunkey,

    I've tried to set up a link in my sig, how do you do it ?

    cheers
     
  12. lovemunkey187

    lovemunkey187
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Messages:
    2,509
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Notts/Sth. Yorks border
    Ratings:
    +29
    [*url=http://www.intervocative.com/dvdcollection.aspx/edinburgh160]edinburgh160 profile[/url*]

    This example is assuming that you're signed up with same handle there as here. You do not need the 2 * in the link, I've just done that so that you can see the full thing. Also if you're not edinburgh160 on profiler then the first edinburgh160, the one before the "]" needs to be changed for whoever you've signed up as (mine reads tion.aspx/lovemunkey187] ).

    Where I've put "edinburgh160 profile" you can put anything you want as long as it's not breaking forum profanity rules :) .

    So just highlight, right click, copy and then paste in the signature bit of your profile. Oh yeah and don't forget to tick the radio button for a public profile :D


    Clear as mud now? :D
     
  13. edinburgh160

    edinburgh160
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
  14. hughesy

    hughesy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2005
    Messages:
    846
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Irish in Oz
    Ratings:
    +13
    hi guys, sorry for commenting so late but i've just noticed that it doesn't upload all of my dvd's which is a bit of a pisser!!!

    Look at my collection, between 1 and 99 there are about 16 missing???

    Is anyone else having this problem???
     
  15. edinburgh160

    edinburgh160
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi, I had this and what I had to do was delete my online collection then re-submit (download) and they all appeared.
     
  16. hughesy

    hughesy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2005
    Messages:
    846
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Irish in Oz
    Ratings:
    +13
    cheers, i figured it out after a while and went to the FAQ on the website. It was all the 18+ films. I just had to let the online edition show adult films.
    Thanks 4 the propmt reply!!!
     
  17. lovemunkey187

    lovemunkey187
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Messages:
    2,509
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Notts/Sth. Yorks border
    Ratings:
    +29

    On the DVDPro you've got downloaded onto your comp:-
    TOOLS-----> OPTIONS----->Parental Control, under the section with the title "Adult Title Definition" put a dot in the radio button labelled "Adult, 18, or Not Rated"(mines ticked to allow adult ads, as well. don't know if this means anthing or not) then click on "Okay".

    On th Intervocative website:-
    My Profiler(at the top of the page)----->Online Collection(this is on the left hand side of the page)----->Online Collection Settings, under the section "Show In Public Listing:" put a tick next to the one labelled "Adult Titles".

    Under the section "Show In Private Listing:" put a tick next to the one labelled "Adult Titles".

    Under the section "Adult Definition:" put a tick next to the one labelled "Standard ('Adult' Rating or 'Adult' Genre)"

    Hope this helps :) As this is how mine is set up.
     
  18. shaithis

    shaithis
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2005
    Messages:
    1,638
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    The Last Aerie
    Ratings:
    +30
    If you have your own webspace with PHP and SQL you can setup a standalone version of the website.....it was written by someone with no ties to Invocotive (AFAIK) and can be customised via PHP and SQL....I've been playing with the stats page a lot - more for fun then anything else tho :)

    There is a large thread on it here with links to the downloads.....

    My collection page is based on this (still uses DVDProfiler to enter the details thho)
     
  19. halfacandan

    halfacandan
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2005
    Messages:
    1,163
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Edinburgh
    Ratings:
    +51
    Being a tight Scot. I didn't want to pay for DVD profiler so I found a free alternative. Not quite as user friendly but it's what I used to build My Site.

    MovieTrack
     
  20. lovemunkey187

    lovemunkey187
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Messages:
    2,509
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Notts/Sth. Yorks border
    Ratings:
    +29

    Odd question I know, but why didn't you just d/l the free version of DVDProfiler? I did. And I'm not a Scot.
     
  21. halfacandan

    halfacandan
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2005
    Messages:
    1,163
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Edinburgh
    Ratings:
    +51
    I did but there were a few of my DVDs that it didn't recognise (and it didn't seem to have any versions of the film in its database!). It may just have been me being stupid but it ****** me off sufficiently to try something different. Am I right in thinking that there is only a 30 day free trial? I needed something that I could update every now and again.

    Dan
     
  22. lovemunkey187

    lovemunkey187
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Messages:
    2,509
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Notts/Sth. Yorks border
    Ratings:
    +29
    I've been using mine since January this year without any probs. The reason that it didn't recognise some of your collection is that it's a user created database, so no one else had got the discs at the time you tried to add them to your collection. If you do decide to add the titles to the DB it's incredibly easy to do.
     
  23. GalacticaActual

    GalacticaActual
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2004
    Messages:
    5,684
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Galactica C.I.C.
    Ratings:
    +214
    I will be getting a lap top for home soon. Does any one know the best way to transfer the info from my work pc to my lap top when I get it.
    Will I have to install DVD profiler on the lap top and then down load from my site online? Or can I just save the info to a disc/flopy and transfer the info this way?

    Cheers .
    Dave.
     
  24. shaithis

    shaithis
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2005
    Messages:
    1,638
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    The Last Aerie
    Ratings:
    +30
    If they are networked you could just copy the Intervocative folder over to the new machine.
     
  25. GalacticaActual

    GalacticaActual
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2004
    Messages:
    5,684
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Galactica C.I.C.
    Ratings:
    +214
    :) The pc at work is networked, my lap top wont be.
     
  26. lovemunkey187

    lovemunkey187
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Messages:
    2,509
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Notts/Sth. Yorks border
    Ratings:
    +29
    As my alter ego is Technonumpty I really don't know the answer but try checking out the forums, your question has probably been asked already, but if it hasn't then there are alot of people on there that know more about it than me.

    A word of warning though, the search facility is the greatest in the world and it's quite hard to refine the searches.
     
  27. Miniholic

    Miniholic
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2001
    Messages:
    3,046
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    The Shire
    Ratings:
    +398
    You just need to do a back up of your collection (File > Backup Profile Database), then install DVDProfiler on your new PC, and import the back up (File > Restore Profile Database). The files can be quite big though, so it's not just a case of sticking it on a floppy, mine is 60MB at present :eek: But you can save space by choosing not to save cover scans.

    You might also be able to update your laptop from your online collection, as there is an option to download from there, although I have never used this myself.
     

Share This Page

Loading...