1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

dvd camcorder?

Discussion in 'Camcorders, Action Cams & Video Editing Forum' started by gkc, Nov 1, 2002.

1. gkc

gkc

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi,

I need some advice. I'm a beginner making a decision what camcorder I should buy. What about the dvd cams are they OK or not?

Thanks for your help!

gkc

2. Duncan Craig

Duncan Craig

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi,
    You're getting 'DVD' confused with 'DV'.

You want a 'DV' (Digital Video) camcorder, yes everyone will recommend them, they have been around for years ....

'DV' encompasses many different formats though, including Digital VHS, Digital Hi8, MiniDV, DVCam, DVCPro, as well as a dozen or so Pro Formats.

The favourite among most people is MiniDV.

Any more questions?

3. gkc

gkc

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
  4. Duncan Craig

Duncan Craig

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for the link,

Sorry for the previous post if I'm teaching you to suck eggs but you did say you were a beginner and I assumed that you were a confused consumer.

As the link suggests the cameras are very expensive, lack features and the discs are pricey, so I doubt they have many benefits really.

DVD is a heavily compressed system meaning the quality is crap, the only reason why commercial DVDs look good is because they are encoded a slow speeds, or using really expensive realtime MPEG hardware.

Most people would recommend DV camcorders, because of price and functionality.
    Not forgetting the Firewire connections.

5. gkc

gkc

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0