DVD Camcorder into my Computer?

D

david park

Which is the best way to transfer into the editing programme.
I can put the small DVD into the DVD tray of the computer or connect the camcorder to the computer with a usb cable.
Which is the better way or is there no difference?
(Please keep answers simple as I'm not that technical, sorry about that.)

I've recently recorder onto 3 small DVDs in the camcorder all with the camcorder set at w/s. I transfered all 3 to the computer with the small DVDs in the compter DVD tray. When playing back the resulting normal size DVD pictures from the middle small DVD are perfect 16x9, but the other 2 are letterbox, ie people are squashed from the top and bottom.
Can't see what I did differently.
Thanks.

jomike

Which is the best way to transfer into the editing programme.
I can put the small DVD into the DVD tray of the computer or connect the camcorder to the computer with a usb cable.
Which is the better way or is there no difference?

Both will work, but putting the DVD in the PC's DVD drive is easier.

When playing back the resulting normal size DVD pictures from the middle small DVD are perfect 16x9, but the other 2 are letterbox, ie people are squashed from the top and bottom.
Can't see what I did differently.

Do all the DVDs play in wide screen if you play them on a DVD player or PC?
What program are you using to edit and how did you transfer the video to the computer?

Regards, Mike

D

david park

From my orginal post.

"I transfered all 3 to the computer with the small DVDs in the computer DVD tray. When playing back the resulting normal size DVD pictures from the middle small DVD are perfect 16x9, but the other 2 are letterbox, ie people are squashed from the top and bottom.
Can't see what I did differently."

So yes used the camcorder DVDs in the computers DVD player.
Yes all 3 of the camcorders DVDs play proper 16x9 w/s on the TV.