1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

DVD burner won't recognise DVD-RWs

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by the_gaffer, Jan 6, 2005.

  1. the_gaffer

    the_gaffer
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hello all,

    I've recently purchased an LG 4163b IDE DVD burner that is multiformat and can accept DVD-R/RW, DVD+R/RW, DVD+R DL and DVD-RAM.

    I bought some good quality Sony DVD-RWs and the drive doesn't recognise them properly. It can tell a disc is in the drive but won't let me write to it.

    I thought by buying a good make, I would avoid this type of problem.

    I've flashed the firmware (worked on 3rd attempt) to the latest version.

    The drive is in an external firewire case connected to an XP Pro SP2 laptop.

    What could the problem be?

    How do I repair it?

    Help

    gaffer
     
  2. Seth Gecko

    Seth Gecko
    retired member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2004
    Messages:
    3,349
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Ratings:
    +193
    What Writer software are you using ? I'm using Nero and I have a NEC2510 adapted to Firewire and that works fine using XP SP2.
     
  3. the_gaffer

    the_gaffer
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've got Nero 6 OEM suite 3 and EZCD creator installed,
    I tried with XP too.

    Could it be that I have a few installed?


    gaffer
     
  4. HMHB

    HMHB
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2001
    Messages:
    25,510
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Nottinghamshire
    Ratings:
    +3,850
    It should allow you to format the DVD with InCD, do you have the latest version of InCD installed ?
     
  5. Seth Gecko

    Seth Gecko
    retired member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2004
    Messages:
    3,349
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Ratings:
    +193
    You can also format the disk within Nero directly - Just look under the RECORDER option.
     
  6. the_gaffer

    the_gaffer
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    OK, i'll have a look when I get home.

    If the disc is recognised in Nero, should it be able to record to it?

    gaffer
     
  7. Seth Gecko

    Seth Gecko
    retired member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2004
    Messages:
    3,349
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Ratings:
    +193
    Yes - but only once it's formatted (usually anyway!)
     
  8. simon100

    simon100
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2004
    Messages:
    318
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +11
    I had a similar problem with my LG GSA-4160B. I tracked the problem down to Easy CD creator not recognising the drive. I removed Easy CD and just use Nero 5.xx now and all is well. My version of INCD does not recognise the LG either, so I have got rid of that and so far no affect on writing/copying disks, but I have yet to try and format a RAM disk, so might be hunting for a copy pf Nero 6 in the near future!
     
  9. the_gaffer

    the_gaffer
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi all,

    I got it working,

    I uninstalled EZCD.

    Lauched Nero, and in the drive selection, my burner was there twice, once for CDs and once for DVDs....I'd been selecting CDs!!!


    Anyway, it's working now,

    thanks again,

    gaffer
     
  10. HMHB

    HMHB
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2001
    Messages:
    25,510
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Nottinghamshire
    Ratings:
    +3,850
    I'm amazed that Nero installed with another package on there. When I last installed Nero it forced me to uninstall my other writing software first !
     

Share This Page

Loading...