DVD-Audio

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by Darkstar_surfer, Aug 14, 2006.

  1. Darkstar_surfer

    Darkstar_surfer
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2004
    Messages:
    3,189
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Towcester
    Ratings:
    +200
    Does anyone know for certain if the Pioneer 575 can play DVD-Audio. I know it plays SACD, I have three disks. I also a DVD-Audio, Once by Nightwish. Although I can listen to 12 tracks I get no video. If I put the disk in my laptop I get video.

    If it should then what am I doing wrong.:suicide:
     
  2. MarkE19

    MarkE19
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Messages:
    17,514
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Rainham Essex
    Ratings:
    +2,515
    Looking at the reviews on This site one user (3rd review down) says that it does play DVD-A.
    DVD-A does not contain video as it is an audio format. They do normally have still images, photos etc that can be viewed whilst listening to the DVD-A track.
    Could the video you can play on your PC be PC only content?

    Mark.
     
  3. Darkstar_surfer

    Darkstar_surfer
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2004
    Messages:
    3,189
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Towcester
    Ratings:
    +200
    I know it says it does but has anyone tried it.

    My PC uses windows media player. When it plays one of the twelve tracks I get a still picture. All this from an animated menu that also offers video playback for two extra tracks.
     
  4. Darkstar_surfer

    Darkstar_surfer
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2004
    Messages:
    3,189
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Towcester
    Ratings:
    +200
    Quote from Play247
    DVD-Audio - Will play on any DVD player. However, advanced resolution audio and any visual content require a DVD-Audio compatible player.

    :suicide: Since this is exactly my problem I am starting to believe I don't have a DVD-Audio compatible player.:suicide:
     
  5. Nic Rhodes

    Nic Rhodes
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2001
    Messages:
    17,152
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Cumbria
    Ratings:
    +1,276
  6. Darkstar_surfer

    Darkstar_surfer
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2004
    Messages:
    3,189
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Towcester
    Ratings:
    +200
    So how do I access the video part using my 575.
     
  7. Philly112

    Philly112
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2003
    Messages:
    4,431
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Frodsham
    Ratings:
    +1,825
    Yes the 575 plays DVD Audio.
    Depending on the discs you have you may well need a display to set the sound options though.

    Phil

    Edit -to answer youR later question; again, use a display and you will get a menu like a std DVD. There may well be extras on there - often interviews, maybe a small video. These will probably play in stereo.
    Basically, although the sound of DVD A is great, I think it is a poorer format than SACD because you really need a monitor (TV) to get the best out of it.
     
  8. Darkstar_surfer

    Darkstar_surfer
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2004
    Messages:
    3,189
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Towcester
    Ratings:
    +200
    This is my problem, I just get a blank screen on my plasma and I can hear the sound and my amp says it is receiving a sterio feed. If I shove the disk in to my lap top I get a menu that looks perfect, just like a standard DVD. The contents also tie up with what is offered on the disk box.

    I just wish I could see the video on my plasma, without hooking my laptop up.

    To play a SACD I have to go to 5.1 CH in on my amp. This does not seem to work wth a DVD-Audio either.
     
  9. Philly112

    Philly112
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2003
    Messages:
    4,431
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Frodsham
    Ratings:
    +1,825
    I presume you have selected 5.1 for the speaker output in the Initial Settings on the 575?
    Also, are you routing the video from the 575 through an AV amp, or directly into the plasma?
    Phil
     
  10. Darkstar_surfer

    Darkstar_surfer
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2004
    Messages:
    3,189
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Towcester
    Ratings:
    +200
    Everthing goes via the my amp, video and all.
     
  11. Philly112

    Philly112
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2003
    Messages:
    4,431
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Frodsham
    Ratings:
    +1,825
    I would first of all try and bypass the amp and see if you can get the menu's up direct from the 575. At least that should show you it's working!
    Phil
     
  12. Nic Rhodes

    Nic Rhodes
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2001
    Messages:
    17,152
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Cumbria
    Ratings:
    +1,276
    what DVD playback mode do you have it set in DVD Video or DVD Audio?

    [probably in options under menu ;)]
     
  13. unique

    unique
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2005
    Messages:
    9,381
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,211
    true dvda will only work via the analogue connections (just like sacd). if you read the 575 manual (which you can prolly download) it will tell you how to set the 575 to play the dvda part by default, rather than the dvdv section

    basically if you have a quick read at the manual it'll tell you how to set it up and get it working in 5 mins
     
  14. Darkstar_surfer

    Darkstar_surfer
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2004
    Messages:
    3,189
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Towcester
    Ratings:
    +200
    :clap: :clap: Sorted :clap: :clap:

    Ok then - For the record. Under the pioneer 575 set-up menu go to iniial settings. Now normally you can't access this with a disk loaded, just make sure it is stopped and can't resume. Now go to options and there is a DVD-Audio option. You can only change this setting if a DVD-Audio disk is loaded it seems.

    Hey presto - Set to DVD-Video and you get the video menu that lets you navigate to the 5.1 version of the sound tracks. The bonus video now plays. Not had a chance to listen to as CBeebies had to be put on immediately. :boring:
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice