DVD and LCD upscaling Explanation please???

BradleyLove

Novice Member
Hey,

I'm an LCD TV noob so I have some questions that I hope can be explained easily.

I currently have a standard def DVD player (an old Panasonic DV-515) that uses SCART output only. I'm finding some films look better on my TV than others (Monsters Inc looks great, Advent Children less so) so does this mean DVDs are in different resolutions too?

Now I've read that each LCD has a native resolution (for info I have a SONY Bravia V Series 40") and therefore in order to make the picture fit the screen, some upscaling is done.

When I change the TV screen modes (i.e. 14:9, Wide, Zoom) is this what's doing the upscaling?? If so would 4:3 give the actual picture size (i.e. DVD pixel per TV pixel)?

I hear things about DVD players doing upscaling or the TV doing it. Now it can't be my DVD cos it's too old, but I don't see any options on my TV for the upscaling. Ultimately I'm trying to see how I can get a better picture from my DVD player.

I don't know if I'm making much sense here, I'm having trouble trying to explain myself but hopefully someone will understand my blatherings!

Cheers in advance.

Fuddman

Novice Member
Yo, Brad its ste.