1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

DVD, Amp/Receiver and 5.1 for 3-6K

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by Triggaaar, Apr 16, 2003.

1. Triggaaar

Triggaaar

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +1,012
    Yes I know the budget is a little vague to say the least. It’s not only on this forum I’m a newbie. I know very little about home cinema – don’t even own a dvd player yet (been saving). I’ve read through a couple of magazines (much of which I assume is journalist license, as opposed to fact) and read through this forum.

I wasn’t sure whether I’d appreciate the difference between systems of hugely differing values, so I’ve been to the local sevenoaks, and tried:
    Denon AVR 1803, Pioneers 454, KEF eggs and sub - £1080 ish
    Denon AVR 3803, Denon DVD 3800, Quad 21 (front), Quad L (centre), Quad ? (rear), REL Quake sub - 4K ish

So I know I don’t want satellites – I didn’t like the lack of mid range, which was most notable for music (stereo).

And that’s all I know so far. I’m hoping to pop back to sevenoaks while the Quads are still set-up, so need to come up with something to demo against them.

If I were to venture near the 6K figure, I’d have to really notice the difference over a 4K system.

Any advice on what to demo, and receiver/speaker combinations that work well together, would be really appreciated.

PS – I’ll be getting a 42" ish plasma, so want a decent DVD (pref PAL prog scan).

Cheers.
    Mike

2. sounddog

sounddog

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +450
    For a 6k system i'd be looking at ...

Rotel RSP1066 (£1000) or TAG AV30R (£1800)
    Rotel RMB1075 (£850) 5 channel amp = RB1070 2ch (£450) amp if you want 7ch
    Pioneer 757ai (£600) DVD player (promised PAL ProgScan firmware to come)
    B&W CDM Series speakers (around £2000 depending on configuration)
    REL Q201 or Velodyne CHT10 sub

Vikki