DVD-A layer change

Discussion in 'Hi-Fi Stereo Systems & Separates' started by sacd, Apr 15, 2004.

  1. sacd

    sacd
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2004
    Messages:
    297
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Cardiff
    Ratings:
    +2
    Here's a good question for you out there.
    Assuming that DVD-A discs are dual layer, how come you don't get a break in the music when the layer is changed?
    I recently listened to a classical disc which was 182 mins long and there was no break. (St Mathews passion Bach)
     
  2. mjn

    mjn
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2001
    Messages:
    22,720
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Herts, England
    Ratings:
    +10,858
    a buffer on the player
     
  3. sacd

    sacd
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2004
    Messages:
    297
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Cardiff
    Ratings:
    +2
    Thanks for the reply, I thought it might be, but it must be one hell of a buffer! I wonder how big they are?
     
  4. General Skanky

    General Skanky
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2000
    Messages:
    4,251
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Colchester
    Ratings:
    +44
    Does 182 mins of DVD-A use as much space on a disc as an eqivalent DVD video?

    Maybe why no layer change?
     
  5. MartinImber

    MartinImber
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2001
    Messages:
    3,854
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Worcester
    Ratings:
    +21
    I don't DL DVD-A are allowed:confused:
     
  6. sacd

    sacd
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2004
    Messages:
    297
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Cardiff
    Ratings:
    +2
    Sorry martin, what was that again?
     
  7. sticker

    sticker
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2003
    Messages:
    1,155
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Ratings:
    +0
    I think Martin was implying that Dual layer DVD-A were allowed under the spec
     
  8. MartinImber

    MartinImber
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2001
    Messages:
    3,854
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Worcester
    Ratings:
    +21
    Sorry posting at dinner time!!!

    I don't think dual layer DVD-A are allowed
     
  9. huwg

    huwg
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2003
    Messages:
    1,854
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +122
    My Denon DVD Player has a buffer (2MB) - it only needs to read a couple of seconds ahead to allow for the layer change, which I don't notice.
    I assume any player would benefit from a similar sized buffer (if the DVD-A discs are indeed dual layer).

    Why these buffers aren't standard on all players I don't know - after all, similar things are fitted to £30 personal CD players.
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice