1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

DVD-A layer change

Discussion in 'Hi-Fi Stereo Systems & Separates' started by sacd, Apr 15, 2004.

  1. sacd

    sacd
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2004
    Messages:
    295
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Cardiff
    Ratings:
    +2
    Here's a good question for you out there.
    Assuming that DVD-A discs are dual layer, how come you don't get a break in the music when the layer is changed?
    I recently listened to a classical disc which was 182 mins long and there was no break. (St Mathews passion Bach)
     
  2. mjn

    mjn
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2001
    Messages:
    18,190
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Herts, England
    Ratings:
    +5,194
    a buffer on the player
     
  3. sacd

    sacd
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2004
    Messages:
    295
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Cardiff
    Ratings:
    +2
    Thanks for the reply, I thought it might be, but it must be one hell of a buffer! I wonder how big they are?
     
  4. General Skanky

    General Skanky
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2000
    Messages:
    4,206
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Ratings:
    +44
    Does 182 mins of DVD-A use as much space on a disc as an eqivalent DVD video?

    Maybe why no layer change?
     
  5. MartinImber

    MartinImber
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2001
    Messages:
    3,851
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Worcester
    Ratings:
    +21
    I don't DL DVD-A are allowed:confused:
     
  6. sacd

    sacd
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2004
    Messages:
    295
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Cardiff
    Ratings:
    +2
    Sorry martin, what was that again?
     
  7. sticker

    sticker
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2003
    Messages:
    1,152
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Ratings:
    +0
    I think Martin was implying that Dual layer DVD-A were allowed under the spec
     
  8. MartinImber

    MartinImber
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2001
    Messages:
    3,851
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Worcester
    Ratings:
    +21
    Sorry posting at dinner time!!!

    I don't think dual layer DVD-A are allowed
     
  9. huwg

    huwg
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2003
    Messages:
    1,850
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +121
    My Denon DVD Player has a buffer (2MB) - it only needs to read a couple of seconds ahead to allow for the layer change, which I don't notice.
    I assume any player would benefit from a similar sized buffer (if the DVD-A discs are indeed dual layer).

    Why these buffers aren't standard on all players I don't know - after all, similar things are fitted to £30 personal CD players.
     

Share This Page

Loading...